Skip to Main Content

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

 

An image of Covell House.

This residence was likely constructed in the 1890s and was owned by Grant Covell, OSU’s first dean of Engineering. In 1926 OAC purchased it to serve as an additional home management house and nursery school and named it Covell House. It was located at the corner of 20th and Monroe Streets, and was demolished in the late 1930s for the construction of the new Chemistry Building (now Gilbert Hall).

General Information

Address

2070 Monroe Street, Corvallis, OR 97331

Architect

Unknown 

Year Built

1890s

Renovations

Unknown (but presumably prior to becoming a home management house)

Square Footage

Unknown 

Purpose/Usage

Private residence, home management practice house for Home Economics students, nursery school

Previous Name(s)

None

Namesake

Grant Covell, OSU’s first dean of Engineering and previous owner of the house

Historic District

Yes; demolished in the 1930s

Blueprints

Unknown

Maps

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Harriet's Photograph Collection, circa 1868-1980; Harriet Moore Photograph Collection, 1890-1962

Further Archival Information

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holds several collections documenting Covell House, most of which are photographs.

Oregon Digital: Oregon Digital includes both textual and photographic resources documenting the history of Covell House.

ScholarsArchive: ScholarsArchive contains theses detailing the work done in Covell House, and the other home management houses.

Map