Skip to main content

OSU Buildings Histories

Building History

Oregon State Historic Preservation Office

Waldo Hall was designed by Albany, Oregon architect Charles Burggraf. It was constructed in 1907, and opened in the fall of that year. It contained 115 dormitory rooms and living quarters for single female faculty members, plus it housed the domestic science department. In 1965 it was renovated and began being used for departmental and faculty offices as well as classrooms. Clara Humason Waldo (1858 to 1933) was the first woman in Oregon to be named to the Board of Regents for a state institution of higher education. She served from 1905 to 1919. She was also the first woman to address a graduating class at Oregon State. In 1911 she worked as the dean of extension in domestic science at Oregon Agricultural College with no compensation and received an honorary doctorate of science from the college in 1923. For more information, see online exhibit Where's Waldo?

General Information

Address 2250 SW Jefferson Way
Architect Charles Burggraf
Year Built 1907
Renovations 1965; Facilities Services Records (RG 193) I. Architectural Drawings and Plans Individual Structures
Square Footage 75,361
Purpose/Usage

Previously: Women's Dormitory and Domestic Science Department

Currently: departmental and faculty offices and classrooms

Previous Name(s) N/A
Namesake

Harriet's Photograph Collection, 1868-1996

Clara Humason Waldo (1858-1933), first Oregon woman on the Board of Regents for a state institution of higher education (1905-1919), dean of extension in domestic science at Oregon Agricultural College, recipient of honorary doctorate of science (1923)

Historic District Yes; Historic Contributing Structure
Blueprints Facilities Services Records (RG 193) I. Architectural Drawings and Plans Individual Structures: Box 112
Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon Digital- Digitized photos of Waldo Hall

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

 

Further Archival Information

Oregon State Memorabilia Collection: Box-Folder 30.11: Buildings - Waldo Hall, 1909-2007: The Memorabilia Collection consists of individual items of historical value such as programs, posters, brochures, clippings, buttons, pennants, stickers, and other ephemera. The Waldo Hall box contains information about the building, architect, structural issues/renovations from reports written by students and architects, a 50th Anniversary pamphlet from 1958 and several newspaper clippings. Personal notes and a booklet pertaining to student life in Waldo Hall are also in this collection.

 

Waldo Hall Scrapbooks: Two scrapbooks, one from 1947-48 and the other from 1957-58, which document residents and activities at Waldo Hall. A folder of newspaper clippings from 1952 about Waldo Hall activities and residents is also included in the collection.

 

Edwin T. Reed Papers, 1886-1948: Series 6 contains nearly a dozen photographs of Waldo Hall and the surrounding area.

 

College of Liberal Arts Records, 1945-2008: Of note in this collection is a nomination of Waldo Hall to the National Register of Historic Places prepared in 1996. The Waldo Hall nomination was completed by two Anthropology Department graduate students in 1996 as part of a class project and was never submitted for review. It includes descriptions of history and construction of the building; photocopies of historic photographs from the OSU Archives and 24 color and b/w photographs.

 

Oregon State Online Historical Exhibit- Where's Waldo?: This exhibit was created by the collective efforts of students in HST 415/515 Digital History course in Winter Term 2013 and contains historical information about Waldo Hall's building, namesake, usage, etc.

 

Facility Records- Maintenance: Maintenance records of Waldo Hall provided by OSU Facilities Services Records- includes information pertaining to any remodels, restorations, or renovations of Waldo Hall

Map