Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

 

This $62.5 million, 105,000-square-foot facility houses the Linus Pauling Institute and chemists from the College of Science. It also contains classroom and laboratory space for students and researchers studying chemistry, biology, and life sciences. It celebrated its grand opening in October 2011, the cornerstone facility initiative of the billion-dollar Campaign for OSU. Construction was made possible by generous support from the Wayne and Gladys Valley Foundation and the family of Al and Pat Reser, along with gifts from 2,600 donors and a matching bond from the State of Oregon. The facility was built to meet LEED Silver requirements and includes the extensive utilization of natural light, heat recovery and some solar equipment.

General Information

Address

2900 SW Campus Way, Corvallis, OR 97331

Architect

ZGF

Year Built

2009-2011

Renovations

 

Square Footage

105,000

Purpose/Usage

Houses the Linus Pauling Institute and chemists from the College of Science

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

Linus Pauling

Historic District

Yes

Blueprints

 

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

Oregon Digital: Digital materials include issues of The Daily Barometer and the Oregon Stater, and a photograph of Alvin and Patricia Reser, photographs, two of the donors who helped fund the building's construction.

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holdings include collections pertaining to the Linus Pauling Center and Linus Pauling Institute.Cordley Hall, including personal papers, oral histories, and photograph collections. Of note is the OSU Memorabilia Collection (Box-Folder 28.7), which includes a news clipping about the building's construction.

Map