Skip to Main Content

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

An image of the Horse Barn.

 

Construction of the Horse Barn, December 11, 1924. The Horse Barn, built to replace the Octagonal Barn that had burned in September 1924 after being struck by lightning, was very similar in style to the Beef Barn, constructed ten years prior. Both were designed by John V. Bennes. With a concrete foundation, and 25 single stalls and four box stalls, the barn was considered "the most elaborate...in this section of the country." Improvements on the previous facility included an office, harness room, an elevator, a tool room, two hay chutes, and a grain and hay carrier at each end of the central "driveway" between the stalls.
 
The three men standing near the fence are D. J. Smith, of Washington State College; William J. Gilmore, Professor of Farm Mechanics at Oregon Agricultural College; and William A. Jensen, OAC's Executive Secretary. The barn, located on Campus Way between 30th and 35th Streets, was torn down in May 1971.

General Information

Address

Between 30th and 35th Streets

Architect

John V. Bennes

Year Built

1924

Renovations

Unknown

Square Footage

5,460

Purpose/Usage

 Livestock boarding

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

Functional

Historic District

No

Blueprints

 Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010 (for barn built in 1971)

Maps

 Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Harriet's Photograph Collection, 1868-1996

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Photograph Collection, 1912-1997

Further Archival Information

SCARC: SCARC's holding include photographs and university records documenting the horse barn's history, and the Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection includes a file on the building's history.

Oregon Digital: Includes images and textual materials documenting the horse barns that have existed on OSU's campus.

Map

Resources

Explore Collections

Browse Materials

Oregon State University Libraries & Press | © 2025 Oregon State University