Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

The Chemistry Building opened in 1939 and was the last building designed by architect John Bennes at Oregon State. It was one of two buildings constructed on campus with assistance from the Works Progress Administration, a part of the "New Deal" that employed millions of people to carry out public works projects. This building houses administrative and faculty offices, the chemistry stockroom, and various shops. This 50,000 square-foot building is also the center for research in analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry. It was named for E. C. Gilbert, who started as a professor at Oregon Agricultural College (now OSU) in 1917 and was chairman of the chemistry department from 1940 to 1956.

General Information

Address

2100 SW Monroe Ave

Architect

Bennes

Year Built

1939

Renovations

Unknown

Square Footage

85,532

Purpose/Usage

Chemistry Research, and office spaces

Previous Name(s)

Chemistry Building (1939-????)

Namesake

E. C. Gilbert, who started as a professor at Oregon Agricultural College (now OSU) in 1917 and was chairman of the chemistry department from 1940 to 1956

Historic District

Yes; Historic Contributing Building 

Blueprints

Unknown

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center contains three collections pertaining to Gilbert Hall: Memorabilia Collection box 27.1, News and Communication Services Records box 16.2, and the Chemistry Department Records.

Oregon Digital: Contains many historic photographs of Gilbert Hall, from its construction in 1938-39 until the present day, as well as periodicals pertaining to the building itself.

Map