Skip to main content

OSU Buildings Histories

Building History

Google Maps Street View

 

The signature “Italian Villa” on the west side of campus is home to the administrative offices of the College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences (CEOAS) at Oregon State. Constructed in 1926, the building originally housed the Alpha Chi Omega sorority, the university’s first national sorority chartered in 1915. OSU purchased the building around 1956, and the little villa was used as a cooperative house for women (Co-ed Cottage) until the early 1980s. Today, CEOAS accounting, human resources, college leadership, and other administrative staff sustain a vibrant teaching and research culture amid the building’s Tuscan flair.

General Information

Address 101 SW 26th St
Architect Unknown
Year Built 1926, purchased 1956
Renovations 1984
Square Footage 8,283
Purpose/Usage Previously: AXO Sorority House, Co-ed House; Currently: CEOAS Admin 

Previous Name(s) Alpha Chi Omega (1926-1956), Co-ed Cottage (1956-1983)
Namesake N/A

Historic District Yes; Historic Contributing Building
Blueprints

Unknown

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs  

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences Records 1943-2008: Contains mostly information about the CEOAS program at Oregon State.

 

Map