Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

 

This building was constructed in 1912 and originally known as the Farm Mechanics Building. In 1938, it was heavily damaged by fire in 1938; it was reconstructed and expanded in 1939, and renamed the Agricultural Engineering Building. Portland architect John Bennes designed both the original building, and the 1939 expansion. In 1965, the Agricultural Engineering Building was renamed Gilmore Hall, in honor of William J. Gilmore, the head of the Farm Mechanics / Agricultural Engineering Department from 1915 to 1945.

General Information

Address

124 SW 26th St

Architect

Bennes & Hendricks

Year Built

1912

Renovations

1939

Square Footage

16,683

Purpose/Usage

Classrooms

Previous Name(s)

Farm Mechanics Building (1912-1939), Agricultural Engineering Buildings (????-????)

Namesake

William J. Gilmore was the head of the farm mechanics department from 1915 to 1945

Historic District

Yes; Historic Contributing Building

Blueprints

Unknown

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center contains a few photograph collections, personal papers and manuscripts, as well as the Bioresource Engineering Department records, all pertaining to Gilmore Hall. Of note is Memorabilia Box 27.4, which contains the Farm Mechanics building proposal along with floor plans.

Oregon Digital: Contains many historic photographs of Gilmore Hall, both inside and out, as well as periodicals pertaining to the building itself.

Map