Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

 

The Valley Football Center underwent a $42 million privately-funded renovation, and reopened in August 2017, to make it one of the most modern facilities in the country. The hub of the Beaver football team has more than doubled in size to nearly 100,000 square feet. The football program now enjoys one of the largest locker rooms in the nation spanning the width of the field (53 yards), a new coaches’ locker room, coaches’ offices, and sports medicine and equipment areas. In addition, the Valley Center includes an upgraded players’ lounge, new meeting areas, a media room, barber shop and the OSU Athletics Hall of Fame. Funding for phase one of the center, which opened in 1990, came from the Valley Foundation, honoring the legacy of Wayne and Gladys Valley. Wayne Valley (’37) was an OSU football player who became a real estate developer. He was a long-time major owner of the Oakland Raiders and a founding member of the American Football League. Gladys Valley (’33) was the first secretary of OSU’s College of Science and later an OSU Foundation Trustee. The Valley Football Center was first expanded in 1997, then again 20 years later.

General Information

Address

724 SW 30th St.

Architect

Carlson-Veit

Year Built

1990

Renovations

Major renovation, including locker room expansion and the construction of a players lounge, meeting areas, an auditorium, a media room, a barber shop, and the OSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017

Square Footage

119,000 sq ft

Purpose/Usage

Home of the Beaver football team

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

The Valley Foundation: created in honor of Wayne (Class of 1937, OSU football player, real estate developer, and major owner of the Oakland Raiders) and Gladys (Class of 1933, the first secretary of OSU's College of Science, and OSU Foundation Trustee) Valley

Historic District

No

Blueprints

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, Box 30

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

SCARC: The Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection contains information about the original construction and dedication of the Valley Football Center. The George Edmonston, Jr. Collection includes photographs of the Valley Football Center and Reser Stadium. The Intercollegiate Athletics Records includes information about the original construction and expansion of the Valley Football Center

Oregon Digital: A search for Valley Football Center yields thousands of results relating to the construction and expansion of the Valley Football Stadium. 

Map