Skip to main content

OSU Buildings Histories

Building History

OSU Housing and Dining Services

Finley Hall was constructed in 1967 and is home to the Adventure Living-Learning Community, which offers residents the opportunity to establish friendships and gain leadership experience while exploring the awe-inspiring landscapes of Oregon. Living-Learning Communities (LLCs) are academic programs that partner with part of or an entire residential community and are located in many of the residence halls. This building was named for William A. Finley, the first president of Corvallis College.

Note: A wing of the Hudson Hall dormitory (1946-1953) was named Finley Hall before a portion of the building caught fire, then was razed to make way for the building of the Reed and Heckart Lodges.

 

General Information

Address 2100 SW May Ave
Architect Bear, McNeil, Bloodworth, and Hawes
Year Built 1967
Renovations Unknown
Square Footage 84,751
Purpose/Usage Dormitory

Previous Name(s) N/A
Namesake William A. Finley, the first president of Corvallis College

Historic District No
Blueprints Unknown
Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs  

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

University Housing and Dining Services RecordsThe records of University Housing and Dining Services document the administration of campus housing residence halls and dormitories. In addition to the management of housing, these records also depict student life and culture on campus.

Oregon Digital: A couple historic photographs as well as newspaper articles pertaining to Finley Hall.

Map