Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

 

Designed by architect John Bennes, the Beef Barn was built in 1914 to house the College's beef cattle and sheep herds. Its loft could accommodate 300 tons of hay. The barn was located near where Withycombe Hall stands today. The Beef Barn was slated to be moved further to the west in the fall of 1947, but was destroyed by fire on September 15 of that year. Spontaneous combustion of wet hay was determined to be the cause. Five head of cattle that were to be shown at the Pacific International Livestock exhibition in Portland died in the fire. Present-day cattle barns are located near the corner of NW 35th and Campus Way.

General Information

Address

near 2901 SW Campus Way

Architect

John V. Bennes

Year Built

1914

Renovations

N/A

Square Footage

Unknown

Purpose/Usage

Livestock barn

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

N/A

Historic District

Yes

Blueprints

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010

Maps

N/A

Photographs

Robert W. Henderson Photographic Slides Collection, 1936-1998; Gwil Evans Photographic Collection, 1930-1968; John Garman Photographic Collection, 1894-1966; Extension and Experiment Station Communications Photograph Collection, 1912-1997

Further Archival Information

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holds several collections documenting the beef barn, including photographs and university records.

Oregon Digital: Oregon Digital includes both textual and photographic resources documenting the history of the beef barn. Of particular note are images of the fire that destroyed the original barn in 1947.

 

Map