Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

Harriet's Photograph Collection 

​Built as Agriculture Hall in 1902 (not to be confused with Strand Agriculture Hall), this building's name was changed to Science Hall in 1909, then to Education Hall in 1940. After renovations in 2012, it was renamed Joyce Collin Furman Hall. For more information, see the Joyce Collin Furman Hall page.

General Information

Address

200 SW 15th Street, Corvallis, OR

Architect

Charles Burggraf

Year Built

1902

Renovations

 

Square Footage

38,603 sf

Purpose/Usage

School of Agriculture

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

N/A

Historic District

Yes, contributing structure

Blueprints

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon Digital- Digitized photos of Furman Hall

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

Oregon State Memorabilia Collection: Box-Folder 30.11: Buildings - Education Hall, 1909-2007:The Memorabilia Collection consists of individual items of historical value such as programs, posters, brochures, clippings, buttons, pennants, stickers, and other ephemera. The Education Hall folder contains original bids and agreements for the construction of Agriculture Hall in 1902, as well as clippings from the Barometer and the Agricultural College Bulletin from 1902. While Burggraf's original blueprints seem to have been lost, detailed descriptions of the plans for each floor can be found in the Barometer clippings. This folder also contains blueprints for John Bennes' 1939 remodel, as well as a rehabilitation study for the building from 2002 by Fletcher, Farr, and Ayotte.

Edwin T. Reed Papers, 1886-1948: Series 6 contains 6 photographs of Joyce Collin Furman Hall (Science Hall) and the surrounding area.

Oregon State University Foundation: Campaign for OSU- Joyce Collin Furman Hall: Contains history of Joyce Collin Furman Hall, facility reports on the building from 2012 and 2013, as well as information about renovations and donations.

OSU Foundation Joyce Collin Furman Hall Renovation Time-Lapse: A nine minute time-lapse showing the renovation of Joyce Collin Furman Hall from 2010-2012.

Map