Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Buildings Histories in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Building History

Like several OSU buildings, Cordley Hall was built in stages. It opened in 1956 and has housed several of the college’s science and agriculture departments, including zoology, botany & plant pathology, microbiology and entomology. The building is named for Arthur Burton Cordley who joined the faculty of Oregon Agricultural College (now OSU) in 1895 as professor of zoology and entomology. He became the first dean of the School of Agriculture in 1908, a position he held until his retirement in 1931.

General Information

Address

2701 SW Campus Way

Architect

Bear, McNeil, Schneider, Bloodworth & Hawes

Year Built

1954

Renovations

1965- Facilities Services Records (RG 193) I. Architectural Drawings and Plans Individual Structures: OC 43.05.02 

Square Footage

235,914

Purpose/Usage

Science and Agricultural Departments

Previous Name(s)

N/A

Namesake

Arthur Burton Cordley, professor of Zoology, Dean of the School of Agriculture (1908-1931)

Historic District

Yes; Historic Contributing Building

Blueprints

Facilities Services Records (RG 193) I. Architectural Drawings and Plans Individual Structures: Box 106

Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

Oregon Digital: Contains many historic photographs of Cordley Hall and the greenhouses that surround it, as well as information about the science and agricultural department at Oregon State.

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holds a vast selection of research material pertaining to Cordley Hall, including personal papers, oral histories, and photograph collections. Of note is the Memorabilia Collection, box 26.8, which contains building plans, a ground breaking ceremony script, correspondence, and other accounts.

Map