Skip to main content

OSU Buildings Histories

Building History

Oregon State Memorial Union

When it was dedicated on June 1, 1929, the Memorial Union was the first student union in the state and its funding came from alumni and student contributions. Construction on the grand building was completed in 1928 and the MU quickly became the center of campus life. Designed by Portland-based architect and 1907 OAC graduate Lee Thomas, the MU stands as both a student center and memorial to honor the service people who died in WWI and the Spanish-American War. The building remained virtually unchanged until fall term of 1960 when the two wings were added at each end of the building for the bookstore and dining commons.

General Information

Address  
Architect  
Year Built  
Renovations  
Square Footage  
Purpose/Usage

Previous Name(s)  
Namesake

Historic District  
Blueprints  
Maps

Facilities Services Records, 1888-2003. Series XX:  Campus, Farm, and Property Maps, 1899-1990. Campus and Farm Maps: 3-A

Oregon State University Campus Maps, 1894-1994

Photographs  

Oregon State University Historical Photographs, 1868-1980

Further Archival Information

Information Forthcoming

Map

Information Forthcoming