Residents sitting on the lawn outside of the Azalea House ca. 1950s. 

The Azalea House was a women's cooperative residence established in 1953. The house had ties to the Oregon Home Economics Extension Council, who proposed the establishment of the Azalea House to address the shortage of campus housing for women. The name "Azalea" was chosen to honor Rachel Azalea Sager, an Extension Specialist in Clothing and State Home Demonstration Leader. The house was designed to house 58 residents and neighbored three other cooperative living residences: Avery Lodge, Dixon Lodge, and Oxford House. The OSU University Housing and Dining Services closed Azalea House and other cooperative residences in 2014, citing concerns about costs and the need for building renovations. 

Since 2017, the Azalea House has been home to the Azalea Child Care Center. The daycare center is operated by American child-care provider Bright Horizons, who has a contract with Oregon State University and the OSU Family Resource Center.

Oregon Digital: Contains many historic photos of the Azalea House and its residents, as well as articles and features on the house and modern child care center.

SCARC: The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holds several collections pertaining to the Azalea House, including the Azalea House Records Collection (MSS Azalea). The collection documents the management of the co-op and the daily lives of the residents there during its operation from 1953 to 2014. Other collections include the Florence Lynds Shuff Collection (MSS Shuff), which documents the role of the Oregon Home Economics Extension Council in the establishment of Azalea House, and the OSU Memorabilia Collection (MSS MC), which includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, a dedication program, and Azalea House promotional brochures.