Following the success of the passage of Measure 8 just a few years prior, the Oregon Citizen's Alliance (OCA) worked to qualify Measure 9 for the 1992 ballot. Measure 9 was a proposed amendment to the Oregon Constitution that would have required all state and local governments to actively discourage homosexuality and other related "behaviors" and to not facilitate, condone, or recognize those behaviors. OCA eventually gathered enough signatures to qualify the measure to be placed on the ballot via an initiated constitutional amendment to be voted upon in the 1992 election cycle - notably, also a presidential election year. The measure read in full: 

"9. Amends Constitution; Government Cannot Facilitate, Must Discourage Homosexuality, Other "Behaviors"

Question - Shall constitution be amended to require that all governments discourage homosexuality, other listed "behaviors," and not facilitate or recognize them?

Summary - Amends Oregon Constitution. All governments in Oregon may not use their monies or properties to promote, encourage or facilitate homosexuality, pedophilia, sadism, or masochism. All levels of government, including public education systems, must assist in setting a standard for Oregon's youth which recognizes that these 'behaviors' are 'abnormal, wrong, unnatural and perverse' and that they are to be discouraged and avoided. State may not recognize this conduct under 'sexual orientation' or 'sexual preference' labels, or through 'quotas, minority status, affirmative action, or similar concepts.'"

The full text of the proposed amendment to the Oregon Constitution read:

"Paragraph 1. The Constitution of the State of Oregon is amended by creating a new section to be added to and made a part of Article I and to read:

Section

1. This state shall not recognize any categorical provision such as "sexual orientation," "sexual preference," and similar phrases that include homosexuality, pedophilia, sadism or masochism. Quotas, minority status, affirmative action, or any similar concepts, shall not apply to these forms of conduct, nor shall government promote these behaviors. 

2. State, regional and local governments and their properties and monies shall not be used to promote, encourage, or facilitate homosexuality, pedophilia, sadism or masochism. 

3. State, regional and local governments and their departments, agencies and other entities, including specifically the State Department of Higher Education and the public schools, shall assist in setting a standard for Oregon's youth that recognizes homosexuality, pedophilia, sadism and masochism as abnormal, wrong, unnatural, and perverse and that these behaviors are to be discouraged and avoided. 

4. It shall be considered that it is the intent of the people enacting this section that if any part thereof is held unconstitutional, the remaining parts shall be held in force."

The measure was defeated by a vote of 56.47% to 43.54%.

Archival Materials

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center holds several collections that make note of Measure 9 and the activism that organized around it. 

• The Corvallis Lesbian Avengers Collection includes information about Measure 9 and efforts to defeat it.

• The OSU Queer Archives Oral History Collection includes interviews with several figures who experienced and engaged in activism around Measure 9. 

• The Pride Center Records make mention of Measure 9 and document a celebration of its defeat.

• The Lavender Network Newsmagazine frequently covered Measure 9 and OCA activity in its reporting. 

• The After 8 Records document the aftermath of both Measure 8 and Measure 9 in Benton County.

In addition, other repositories also hold a significant amount of information about Measure 9:

• The Gay and Lesbian Ballot Measure Campaign Collection held by the Oregon Historical Society documents several LGBTQ+ ballot measures up for the vote in the 1990's, Measure 9 among them. 

• The Gay and Lesbian Issues of 1989-1994 Collection held by the University of Washington documents efforts to pass Measure 9 and related opposition in detail. 

• The Your Family, Friends, and Neighbors Records held by Boise State University dedicate several subject files to Oregon Measure 9 and the Oregon Citizen's Alliance. 

• The Special Righteousness Committee Collection held by the Oregon Historical Society, documents the committee's opposition to Measure 9. 

• The Gail Shibley Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a subject file regarding Measure 9 and efforts to defeat it. 

• The Queer Nation (Portland, Or.) Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a large amount of information about Measure 9 and efforts to defeat it. 

• The Bonnie Tinker Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes subject files dedicated to the No on 9 campaign to defeat Measure 9. 

• Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays Portland Chapter Records, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a subject file on Measure 9.

• The Campaign for a Hate Free Oregon Records, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes detailed information about opposition efforts of Measure 9. 

• The Lesbian and Gay Pride Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes information about No on 9

• The Oral History Interview with Norm Costa, particularly the second interview conducted, details Costa's work in opposition to Measure 9.

•  The Tee A. Corinne Papers, held by the University of Oregon, includes some information about Corinne's involvement in efforts to defeat Measure 9. 

• The Gary Smith Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes information about Smith's involvement with Campaign for a Hate Free Oregon and the Equal Rights Political Action Committee in defeating Measure 9. 

• The Politics Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a small subject file about Measure 9. 

• The Oregon Speak Out Project Records, held by the Oregon Historical Society, document the organization's efforts to defeat Measure 9. 

• The Pacific Northwest Lesbian-Feminist Publications, held by the Oregon Historical Society, houses materials relating to opposition to Measure 9. 

• The Charles F. Hinkle Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a series about the politician's opposition to Measure 9.

•  The Jeanine Wittcke Papers, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes a subject file related to No on 9. 

• The Holly Pruett Papers, held by the Oregon Historical Society, detail Pruett's activism on LGBTQ+ issues, including opposition to Measure 9. 

• The Oral History Interview with Lee Coleman, held by the Oregon Historical Society, detail Coleman's involvement with politics and opposition to Measure 9. 

• The Lesbian Community Project Records, held by the Oregon Historical Society, include a subject file on Measure 9. 

• The Gay and Lesbian Organizations Collection, held by the Oregon Historical Society, includes information about opposition to Measure 9 and efforts to defeat it. 

• The Joy Spalding Collection on Physicians for Social Responsibility, housed by the Oregon Health and Science University, includes a subject file about Measure 9. 

Finally, a search in Oregon Digital for "Measure 9" yields thousands of results, including mentions of the measure in the Daily Barometer, as well as several oral history interviews with prominent activists in Lane County as part of the Eugene Lesbian Oral History Project.