Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Digitized Collections

Manuscript Collections

Oregon State University Women's Basketball and Field Hockey Scrapbooks, 1964-1968 (MSS WomenBBHockey)
The Oregon State University Women's Basketball and Field Hockey Scrapbooks document the women's basketball and field hockey teams for several years in the mid-1960s. The scrapbooks include color and b/w snapshot photographs, ephemera, and clippings documenting team members, games, travel, and special events. One of the scrapbooks is for the 1968 basketball team which played all of its games in February. 

George Edmonston, Jr. Collection, 1907-2011 (MSS Edmonston)
The George Edmonston, Jr. Collection primarily consists of materials collected and generated by Edmonston over the course of his nineteen years (1986-2005) as editor of the Oregon Stater alumni magazine, during which time he wrote dozens of articles on the history of the university. The collection includes original and reproduced photographs and other primary sources used by Edmonston in his research and writing on OSU and the Willamette Valley. Boxes 1 and 2 contain subject files and images of Oregon State basketball teams and individual players.

*Chuck Boice Papers, 1912-2010 (MSS Boice)
The Chuck Boice Papers document Boice's journalism career, family life, and military service and include materials assembled and created by Boice pertaining to Oregon State University athletics and alumni. The records reflect his work at Oregon State University as well as his journalism work at the University of Portland and several Oregon radio stations. The collection includes correspondence, military records, newspaper clippings, notes, photographs, poetry, publications, sound recordings, artifacts, and manuscripts of columns and articles written by Boice. Boxes 1 and 5 contain photographs of OSU basketball games.

*Ralph O. Coleman Papers, 1910-1991 (MSS Coleman)
The Coleman Papers consist of materials generated and collected by alumnus and baseball coach Ralph O. Coleman that reflect his career with OSU athletics, his military training and service, honors that he received, and his work for the U.S. Army leading baseball and basketball coaching clinics in Europe and Japan. Numbering about 250 photographs in total, the images contained in the Ralph O. Coleman Papers depict Coleman in portrait shots, in group shots with other OSU Athletics faculty, attending American Baseball Coaches Association meetings, with his wife and friends at his Woodburn home, being honored at award ceremonies, and with other members of the Corvallis Country Club. Box 1 contains a subject file regarding Coleman's work with the U.S. Army Basketball Officials Clinic in 1955, and images of the Oregon State Basketball team.

*Beth Russell Papers, 1941-2005 (MSS Russell)
The Beth Russell Papers consist of memorabilia collected by Russell and reflecting her undergraduate experience at Oregon State College and a trip to Alaska taken in 1941. An addition to the Beth Russell Papers (Accession 2012:051) is made up of artifacts, photographs, and publications collected by alumna Russell that document OSU athletics, campus art exhibits, and Russell's membership in the Sigma Kappa sorority. The publications include a OSU basketball yearbook, an OSU athletics guest guide, an OSC songbook, a Sigma Kappa songbook, and art exhibit announcements.

Photograph Collections

Basketball Photographs, 1910-1966 (P 006)
The Basketball Photographs depict the Oregon State University men's basketball teams from 1919-1966. Included are group photos, player portraits, action shots, and photographs of the rally squad and trophies won by the team.

Claud L. Booth Photograph Album, 1919-1973 (P 300)
The Claud L. Booth Photograph Album was assembled by Booth to document his student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC), primarily from 1919 to 1924. About half of the album's images depict sports at Oregon Agricultural College and include photographs of individual athletes and coaches, teams, and athletic events. Images for baseball, basketball (Box 01), football, soccer, track, and wrestling are included, with baseball and basketball comprising the majority.

OSU Band Photographs, 1892-1998 (P 104)
The collection consists of two series - Itemized Photographs and Non-Itemized Photographs. Most of these images date to the first half of the twentieth century. The Itemized Photographs consist largely of images of individual band members and of the marching band performing in various formations. The Non-Itemized Photographs include images of the Marching, Symphonic and Basketball bands (Box 1); Jazz Ensembles; photographs used in brochures; images of "Tonight Show" bandleader Doc Severinsen; and images of other music events including the OSU Junior High Music camp and its participants at Rockaway Beach, Oregon, 1982.

G. Herbert Root Photograph Collection, ca. 1891 - 1936 (P 127)
The collection consists of photos acquired by G. Herbert Root, who attended OAC in the early 1900s. The photos are primarily of students, athletes (football, men and women's basketball, track) and faculty members, taken between 1902 and 1908 (Boxes 1 - 2). Many of the photographs were taken by William G. Emery, a Corvallis studio photographer and 1883 Oregon State graduate. This collection has been digitized and is available online.

Joe O. Mattson Photograph Collection, 1923-1924 (P 145)
The Joe O. Mattson Photograph Collection consists of images taken and assembled by Mattson documenting student life at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) in the mid-1920s. Most of the images date from Mattson's sophomore year at OAC in 1923-1924. The images depict the sophomore-rook tug of war, the homecoming bonfire, and football and basketball (Box 01) players. This collection has been digitized and made available online.

James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection, 1909-1915 (P 191)
The James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection contains images produced or collected by Arbuthnot during his time at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC). These images document Arbuthnot's life and activities in and near Corvallis as well as OAC's athletic teams and sporting events. Arbuthnot was Athletic Director from 1906 to 1918 and the coach of the OAC wrestling team in 1911-1917 and 1920. Basketball-related materials can be found in Box 01. The entirety of this collection has been digitized and is available online.

Charles Leon Robinson Photograph Album, 1912-1916 (P 215)
The Charles Leon Robinson Photograph Album was assembled by Robinson and documents his student years at Oregon Agricultural College. The album includes 212 photographs and several ephemeral items. A variety of athletic events and recreational sports are depicted in the album, including football, basketball (Box 01) (men's and women's), wrestling, tennis, track and field, canoeing, and baseball. 

James A. Sewell Photograph Album, circa 1902-1904 (P 259)
The James A. Sewell Photograph Album consists of a photograph album assembled by James A. Sewell and is made up of photographs taken at Oregon Agricultural College in about 1902 to 1904. In addition to portrait and group shots of football team players, these photographs document a football game on the OAC campus, cadet formations on campus, the women’s basketball team (Box 01, Acc. 2006:064), track and field events, and a student trip to the Oregon Coast. 

Bertha Andresen Photographs, 1902-1911 (P 026)
The Bertha Andresen Photographs consist of one mounted photographic print and 10 postcards of the Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) campus and students. The postcards include images of several campus buldings or structures, including Alpha Hall, the fountain on lower campus, and the Armory (now McAlexander Fieldhouse); the 1910 graduating class; 1911 commencement activities; the OAC cadets in the 1911 Portland Rose Festival parade and drilling on lower campus; and the 1907 women's and men's basketball teams (Box 01).

C.A. Vincent Photograph Collection, 1909-1910 (P 109)
The C.A. Vincent Photograph Collection consists of photographic postcards documenting student life at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) assembled by Vincent during his student years. The collection includes several images of military cadets and two images of campus work days. Of special note are images of the 1909 orchestra, the domestic science band, construction of the new armory (now McAlexander Fieldhouse), and the 1912 Championship basketball team (Box 01). This collection has been digitized and is available online.