Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

OSU Buildings History

Included within SCARC collections is documentation of the campus buildings as well as biographical information regarding building namesakes.
As part of their work to determine whether four buildings on campus - Arnold Dining Hall, Avery Lodge, Benton Hall and Annex, and Gill Coliseum - should be renamed, a team of historians, including SCARC staff, has compiled a list of salient collections that document the history of the four buildings under review. While some materials in the list are available online, the majority are only accessible by an in-person visit to conduct research in SCARC.

A report of their findings, the collections used, and other information about the building naming process can be found here: OSU Buildings History LibGuide.

Additional Resources

*Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010 (RG 193)
The Facilities Services Records document the physical campus of Oregon State University in Corvallis as well as OSU facilities throughout the state of Oregon beginning with construction of the first building on the current campus in 1888. The records consist predominantly of architectural drawings and files for the design, construction, and modification to structures. A preliminary list of the collection's content can be found here, and is keyword searchable. 

*Buildings Photograph Collection, 1880-2002 (P 019)

The Buildings Photographs Collection documents Oregon State University buildings, grounds, and facilities as well as a limited number of other notable buildings in Corvallis. The collection also includes approximately 20 line drawings of buildings located on other Oregon University System campuses

OSU Memorabilia Collection, 1960-present (MC) 

The OSU Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection with many folders dedicated to buildings on campus. 

*Harriet's Photograph Collection (P HC)

Harriet's Collection contains a significant number of buildings photos.

*Oregon State University Historical Photograph Collection, 1896-1980 (P 025)

This collection contains a significant number of photographs related to buildings and building construction.
 

Digital Projects

Oregon State Building Construction

Barns of OSU

The Oregon Historic Sites Database also contain information about historic places that have been inventoried by the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) or listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Access to Collections

*All collections listed in this guide are open for research. Some collections, however, are not yet fully processed, arranged, or described; the titles of these collections have been marked with an asterisk, i.e., *Avery Lodge Records, 1966-2014.