Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Digitized Collections

Manuscript Collections and Record Groups

Frederick V. Betts Scrapbook, 1926-1964 (MSS Betts)
The Frederick V. Betts Scrapbook consists of photographs and ephemera created and assembled by Betts during his student years at Oregon Agricultural College in 1926-1928. Various athletic events, including football, track, and rowing (Box 01); and military cadets are depicted. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008 (RG 276)
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University.  While the records include materials from the 1930s-1960s, the bulk of the materials pertain to student organizations active in the 1970s-2000s. Sports and recreation clubs for women and men are included in the files. The Records include annual review forms, budgets and financial reports, constitutions and by-laws, member rosters and officer lists, event registration forms, and related documentation and correspondence.  Information about the number of members and the name of the faculty advisor are included for many of the organizations. The files for some organizations include brochures, manuals, posters, and other materials documenting the organization’s activities and programs. A file for the Varsity Rowing Club can be found in Box 8, folder 17.

Photograph Collections

Rowing (Crew) Photograph Collection, 1922-1939 (P 015)
The Rowing (Crew) Photograph Collection consists predominantly of images of rowing teams from universities other than  Oregon State and of rowing events in the eastern United States. The University of Washington rowing team is depicted in several images. Other universities represented in the collection are the University of Wisconsin, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, and Syracuse University as well as Cambridge and Oxford Universities. The Poughkeepsie Races (New York) and the Childs Cup Regatta on the Harlem River are depicted.

Several images of Oregon State College rowing team members are part of the collection. Of special note is a photograph of several students participating in a "canoe tilt" in which competitors stand in separate canoes, and using a long oar with padding on the end, try to send their opponent overboard. This collection has been digitized and is available online.