Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Digitized Collections

Record Groups

*Recreational Sports Department Records, 1964-2008 (RG 240)
The Recreational Sports Department Records document recreational sports and fitness programs offered at Oregon State University, primarily for students. The records consists of correspondence and subject files; annual reports, handbooks, and manuals; committee records; sports club files and budget requests; buildings and facilities records; and photographs, videotapes, and sound recordings. The materials also include a guestbook, a photograph album and scrapbook, newspaper clippings, and informational materials. Boxes 8 and 13 contain volleyball sports club files from 1975 to 2008.

Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008 (RG 276)
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University.  While the records include materials from the 1930s-1960s, the bulk of the materials pertain to student organizations active in the 1970s-2000s. Sports and recreation clubs for women and men are included in the files. The Records include annual review forms, budgets and financial reports, constitutions and by-laws, member rosters and officer lists, event registration forms, and related documentation and correspondence. Information about the number of members and the name of the faculty advisor are included for many of the organizations. The files for some organizations include brochures, manuals, posters, and other materials documenting the organization’s activities and programs. Information about the Men's Volleyball Club (2002) and the Women's Volleyball Club (2002-2003) can be found in Boxes 6 and 8, respectively.

Photograph Collections

*John L. Robbins Photographs, 1966-1972 (P 295)
The John L. Robbins Photographs consist of photographs taken by Robbins during his student years at Oregon State University in the late 1960s and early 1970s documenting numerous campus events, student activities, and campus views and scenes. The images depict athletic events; concerts, comedy shows, and theatrical performances; oceanographic research; lectures and speeches by visiting public figures and politicians, including a speech by civil rights activist Julian Bond; campus events; carnival rides at night; classrooms; and campus views. The collection includes photographs of football and basketball games as well as track and field meets and wrestling, soccer, rugby, volleyball, baseball, gymnastics, and crew athletes and events.

Corvallis Gazette-Times Photographs, 1957-1965 (P 066)
The Corvallis Gazette-Times Photographs consist of images (primarily film negatives) documenting activities and events that took place in the late 1950s to mid 1960s on and around the Oregon State College (OSC) campus. Some organizations represented in this collection include the College of Home Economics, OSC Corvallis Symphony Orchestra and Symphony Society, OSC Cosigners Club, Masque and Dagger (a University drama club), OSC Civic Music Association, the College Folk Club, and local 4-H clubs. Images documenting the 1965 OSC summer recreation program include a volleyball game (Box 1, Folder 1).