Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center

The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Douglas Strain Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. Our public service hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm during the academic year. We frequently close to accommodate class visits; if you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.

How to Use this Guide

Collections listed in this guide are identified by title and collection number, and are described in a brief statement on the relevant contents of the collection. Relevant subjects, topics, and/or keywords have been bolded, and box and folder information has been included as appropriate.

All collections listed in this guide are open for research. Some collections, however, are not yet fully processed, arranged, or described; the titles of these collections have been marked with an asterisk, i.e., *Avery Lodge Records, 1966-2014.

This guide describes physical collections located in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center. Digitized materials can be located by searching Oregon Digital; where appropriate, links to specific collection material in Oregon Digital have been provided.

Quick Link - Digitized Resources

Looking for online content? Oregon Digital contains a wealth of digitized materials that document Oregon State University's rich history. Often, digitized materials are gathered together as sets, either by publication or collection. Examples of such sets include:

The Oregon State University Sesquicentennial Oral History Project (OH 150) 
A multi-year effort, the OSU Sesquicentennial Oral History Project was a collaborative enterprise that worked to document the university's history, culture and initiative through interviews with a diverse collection of individuals. The result is a major resource of significant interest to scholars, educators and Beaver Believers around the world.