Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Photograph Collections

*Baseball Photographs, 1919-1990 (P 007)
The Baseball Photographs are comprised of images of Oregon State University baseball players, coaches, and teams.

James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection, 1909-1915 (P 191)
The James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection contains images produced or collected by Arbuthnot during his time at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC). Arbuthnot was Athletic Director from 1906 to 1918 and the coach of the OAC wrestling team in 1911-1917 and 1920. Photographs in the collection depict a number of athletic teams including football, baseball (Box 01), basketball, track and field, and wrestling participating in practices, games, and competitions. The entirety of this collection has been digitized and is available online.

W. Lester Powell Photograph Collection, 1913-1956 (P 192)
The W. Lester Powell Photograph Collection consists of images taken and assembled by Powell, primarily during his student years at Oregon Agricultural College in the mid 1910s. The photographs depict campus activities, including pageants; athletics, especially football; and forestry students and faculty in forest campus and on forestry trips. Baseball-related photographs can be found in Box 1, Folders 1, 2, and 3.

Manuscript Collections

*Ralph O. Coleman Papers, 1910-1991 (MSS Coleman)
The Coleman Papers consist of materials generated and collected by alumnus and baseball coach Ralph O. Coleman that reflect his career with OSU athletics, his military training and service, honors that he received, and his work for the U.S. Army leading baseball and basketball coaching clinics in Europe and Japan. Materials relating to Coleman's coaching clinics, and OSU's baseball team can be found in Boxes 1 and 3 of Accession 2014: 054.

George Edmonston, Jr. Collection, 1907-2011 (MSS Edmonston)
The George Edmonston, Jr. Collection primarily consists of materials collected and generated by Edmonston over the course of his nineteen years (1986-2005) as editor of the Oregon Stater alumni magazine, during which time he wrote dozens of articles on the history of the university. Box 1, Folder 33 includes a photograph of of softball player Parissa Plant; Box 3, Folder 11 includes notes from interviews conducted with Margaret Lumpkin and Sylvia Moore.

Oral History Collections

OSU Queer Archives Oral History Collection, 2015-2017 (OH 034)
The OSU Queer Archives Oral History Collection seeks to document the experiences and perspectives of members of the LGBTQ+ community who have spent at least portions of their lives at Oregon State University and/or in Benton County, Oregon. All interviews and events have been recorded directly to digital video and are available online. Included in the collection is an interview with Mary Renneke, who attended OSU on a partial softball scholarship. Renneke's interview video is available online.