Skip to main content

Guide to Oregon State University History

From the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Digitized Collections

Manuscript Collections and Record Groups

Ed Ferguson Oregon Anti-Apartheid Scrapbook, 1980-2012 (MSS Apartheid)
The Ed Ferguson Oregon Anti-Apartheid Scrapbook documents the protest and educational campaign led by the Oregon State University (OSU) African Students' Association in response to OSU wrestling coach Dale Thomas' association with the South African wrestling community. Ed Ferguson, a specialist in African history, was a faculty member in the History Department at Oregon State University from 1979 to 1991.

*Ralph O. Coleman Papers, 1910-1991 (MSS Coleman)
Numbering about 250 photographs in total, the images contained in the Ralph O. Coleman Papers depict Coleman in portrait shots, in group shots with other OSU Athletics faculty, attending American Baseball Coaches Association meetings, with his wife and friends at his Woodburn home, being honored at award ceremonies, and with other members of the Corvallis Country Club. The images also depict OSU athletics and include portrait shots of players and teams as well as game shots. Primarily pertaining to baseball, these photographs also depict basketball, cross country and track, football, hockey, and wrestling. OSU Athletics subject files, including a file on the wrestling program, can be found in Box 1.

A. Freeman Mason Scrapbook, 1910-1922 (MSS Mason)
The A. Freeman Mason Scrapbook was assembled by Mason as a record of his student years at Oregon Agricultural College from 1910 to 1914. The scrapbook includes photographs; dance cards, ticket stubs, and other ephemera; programs; clippings; and correspondence. The photographs include many images of students (individuals and groups) and student activities; athletes and athletic events, including football, baseball, track and wrestling (Box 01); women's sports; campus buildings,
including the construction of Langton Hall; military cadets; a May Day pageant; students on outings, playing in the snow, and canoeing; and a military parade in downtown Corvallis.

Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008 (RG 276)
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University.  While the records include materials from the 1930s-1960s, the bulk of the materials pertain to student organizations active in the 1970s-2000s. Sports and recreation clubs for women and men are included in the files. The Records include annual review forms, budgets and financial reports, constitutions and by-laws, member rosters and officer lists, event registration forms, and related documentation and correspondence.  Information about the number of members and the name of the faculty advisor are included for many of the organizations.  The files for some organizations include brochures, manuals, posters, and other materials documenting the organization’s activities and programs. Information about the Professional Wrestling Club (1997-1998) can be found in Box 7.

Photograph Collections

James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection, 1909-1915 (P 191)
The James G. Arbuthnot Photograph Collection contains images produced or collected by Arbuthnot during his time at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC). These images document Arbuthnot's life and activities in and near Corvallis as well as OAC's athletic teams and sporting events. Arbuthnot was Athletic Director from 1906 to 1918 and the coach of the OAC wrestling team in 1911-1917 and 1920. Wrestling images includes photographs of the 1911 Freshman wrestling team, 1912 Wrestling Captian Charles Sitton, and a photograph of the wrestling team with Coach Arbuthnot and his dog (all in Box 1, Folder 1). The entirety of this collection has been digitized and is available online.

Charles Leon Robinson Photograph Album, 1912-1916 (P 215)
The Charles Leon Robinson Photograph Album was assembled by Robinson during his student years at Oregon Agricultural College. The album includes 212 photographs and several ephemeral items. A variety of athletic events and recreational sports are depicted in the album, including football, basketball (men's and women's), wrestling (Box 01), tennis, track and field, canoeing, and baseball. Images of military cadets; students studying, probably in the Oxford Club; and a horticulture exhibit are included.

J. Llewellyn Spriggs Photograph Album, 1915-1921 (P 285)
The J. Llewellyn Spriggs Photograph Album was assembled by Spriggs during his student years at Oregon Agricultural College. The album includes professional photographic prints, photographic postcards, and snapshots. The album primarily reflects Spriggs' social activities with fellow students and participation in track and field. Other athletic teams and contests are also depicted, such as football, basketball, and wrestling (Box 01).

*John L. Robbins Photographs, 1966-1972 (P 295)
The John L. Robbins Photographs consist of photographs taken by Robbins during his student years at Oregon State University in the late 1960s and early 1970s documenting numerous campus events, student activities, and campus views and scenes. The images depict athletic events; concerts, comedy shows, and theatrical performances; oceanographic research; lectures and speeches by visiting public figures and politicians, including a speech by civil rights activist Julian Bond; campus events; carnival rides at night; classrooms; and campus views. The collection includes photographs of football and basketball games as well as track and field meets and wrestling, soccer, rugby, volleyball, baseball, gymnastics, and crew athletes and events. Campus events depicted include the Turtle Derby, held as part of Mom's Weekend, and homecoming activities. Performers depicted in the images include Neil Diamond, Pat Paulsen, Carlos Santana, Donovan, The 5th Dimension, Three Dog Night, Iron Butterfly, Mason Williams, Jonathan Winters, and The Rascals. The collection includes photographs of dormitory life, student organizations, commencement, and protest rallies and marches on campus. Photographs of snow on campus are also included, as well as solar and lunar eclipses.

*Claud L. Booth Photograph Album, 1919-1973 (P 300)
The Claud L. Booth Photograph Album was assembled by Booth to document his student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC), primarily from 1919 to 1924. The images depict student activities, sports teams and events, athletes, and coaches. Images for baseball, basketball, football, soccer, track, and wrestling (Box 01) are included, with baseball and basketball comprising the majority. Of special note are a team photograph of the 1919 OAC soccer team as well as photographs of A.T. (Slats) Gill as a basketball player; W.A. Kearns, Director of Athletics; and baseball coach, Ralph Coleman.

*Roy M. Cooley Photograph Album, 1907-1911 (P 302)
The Roy M. Cooley Photograph Album consists of photographic postcards and snapshots assembled by Cooley documenting his stud
ent years at Oregon Agricultural College. The images include photographs of Cooley with his fellow students in the Chintimini Club; athletics; student activities; and campus views. The athletics photographs depict baseball, basketball, football, track, and wrestling (Box 01) athletes, teams, and events.

Oral Histories

Oral Histories of the 1959 Oregon State College Wrestling Court, 1983-2013 (OH 027)
The 1959 Oregon State College Wrestling Court oral history collection consists of born digital audio files and transcripts, as well as supporting research materials compiled by OSU undergraduate student Brittany Backen in her research on the wrestling court and the controversy that it provoked. The collection includes audio and transcripts for six born digital interviews conducted in 2013 by Backen with four members of the 1959 wrestling court - Carol Hamlin, Maryann Hogan, Sharon Reid, and Janet Essig - as well as former wrestler Ken Noteboom, and former editor of the Daily Barometer Chuck Wenstrom. In addition to born digital sound recordings and transcripts, collection materials include pdf scans of release agreements, research materials and Backen's final paper; newspaper clippings and correspondence; and photocopies of Life Magazine and Sports Illustrated articles featuring the 1959 wrestling court as well as the Sigma Delta Chi 1959-1960 school year calendar and other materials documenting the 1959 OSC wrestling team.