Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Cultural Resource Centers ~ SCARC Archival Materials

Archival collections and materials in the university's archives that document the OSU CRCs' histories.

Welcome!

The Oregon State University Cultural Resource Centers (CRCs) have a rich and diverse history, much of which is available as part of the university's Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC). This guide offers a (growing) list of archival materials available pertaining to each of the CRCs.

 

You will note that some CRCs have more complete histories than others. The archives is actively seeking materials to add to the CRCs collections. If you have ideas and/or content, please contact:

Natalia Fernández (she/her) Curator of the Oregon Multicultural Archives; 541-737-3653 natalia.fernandez@oregonstate.edu

How to Use This Guide

This guide is organized by each individual CRC. Some CRCs have their own RG (record group) collection, materials available online, and others have very little information altogether. When possible, there will be links to more information, either an archival finding aid (i.e. a narrative inventory of a collection), a blog post, or a small online exhibit.

There are some types of materials that pertain to all the CRCs, like the Beaver Yearbook and the "Minorities in the Barometer" Collection, that are listed in the "All CRCs" tab within this guide.

If there are any materials that are only available in the archives, you are welcome to come to the Valley Library 5th Floor Reading Room to request to view the materials you need; check out these helpful pages regarding our facilities and FAQs and visiting SCARC.

About SCARC

The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:

We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; for more information please see our SCARC Anti-Racist Actions Statement.

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.

SCARC Services

Due to limited staffing capacity, the Special Collections and Archives Research Center will be open by appointment only until further notice.

SCARC staff are committed to mitigating the risks associated with on-site collection consultations through a quarantine period of research materials before and after each appointment, disinfection of surfaces and high-touch points, wearing face coverings, and appropriate physical distancing.

We miss seeing you in our reading room, and while SCARC’s on-site public services are limited at this time, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. There is a wealth of online content in Oregon Digital, on the SCARC website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, and on OSU MediaSpace, and public services staff are available to assist you in navigating and searching these sites.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more information about our by-appointment model, and other services.

Contact Us

Your archivists are here to help!

Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.