Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Cultural Resource Centers ~ SCARC Archival Materials

Archival collections and materials in the university's archives that document the OSU CRCs' histories.

Adding Materials to the Archives

  • Are you or have you been a CRC staff member?
  • Do you know CRC staff alumni?
  • Do you have materials created by a CRC?
  • Do you have ideas for how the archives can document the CRCs' history?

If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, the archives is actively seeking materials to add to the CRCs collections.
If you have ideas and/or content, please contact:

Natalia Fernández
Curator of the Oregon Multicultural Archives
541-737-3653
natalia.fernandez@oregonstate.edu

Preserving Your CRC's History

  • Document the activities of your CRC. This might mean keeping minutes of meetings, saving copies of publications and flyers, and organizing your photographs.
  • Develop a straightforward filing system that works for you. Have a strategy for organizing paper and electronic records. It can be as simple as starting putting things in file folders. 
  • Label your materials/folders with full names, dates, and descriptions of events or circumstances. 
  • Use good naming conventions for electronic records -- we avoid "IMAGE0001.JPG" and so should you. 
  • Keep records together in one central place. Back-up your files and talk about off-site server storage.
  • Keep records safe. Store them away from dampness, dust, excessive heat, and sun.
  • Remember your non-paper documents. Electronic records can pose software and hardware access problems. Save compact discs, memorabilia, photographs, posters, and tapes, as well as traditional paper documents. Contact Natalia for help an advice with maintaining and transferring electronic files.
  • WHEN IN DOUBT, DON'T THROW IT OUT! Natalia can help you decide what to keep and what to toss, so ask for guidance.

Historical Materials

The university's archives is interested in working with the CRCs to gather materials related. For example, the archives looks for items that document: 

  • The history and development of the OSU CRCs
  • CRC traditions
  • The missions and policies of the CRCs
  • Significant programs, activities, and events 
  • Student activism 
  • Student involvement in service activities 
  • Outreach efforts and community involvement

Examples of Archival Records

  • Constitutions and bylaws
  • Member handbooks and policy statements
  • Meeting minutes and supporting documentation
  • Reports or key financial documentation 
  • Organizational histories, reference files, or research material for your group
  • Websites, blogs, and other social media (Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr)
  • Newsletters, fliers, brochures, posters, press releases, and other publications  
  • Photographs, scrapbooks, audio recordings, video, clippings, and scrapbooks
  • Correspondence that documents programs, activities, and events

Examples of non-Archival Records

  • Active records you regularly refer to conduct your business should be kept  -- until they are no longer active and you are ready to transfer them to us!
  • Duplicate copies of publications published by your organization (we’ll keep two copies at most)
  • University-wide memos or announcements, unless they relate directly to the group or events in which the groups participated or organized
  • Artifacts like trophies or award plaques
  • Routine correspondence like requests and acknowledgments
  • Routine financial documents like receipts, purchase orders, canceled checks
  • Blank forms, letterhead, or other stationery