Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Cultural Resource Centers ~ SCARC Archival Materials

Archival collections and materials in the university's archives that document the OSU CRCs' histories.

Archival Materials for the Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center (BCC)

Visit the BCC Website!

In 1975, the Black Student Union (BSU) received funding from the Oregon State University student government, the Alumni Center, and the local community to open the BSU Cultural Center. The center's name changed in 1981 to the Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center (BCC), in honor of the first director of OSU's Educational Opportunities Program. The mission of the Lonnie B. Harris BCC is to complement the academic program of studies and enrich the quality of campus life for African and African-American students at OSU.

Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center (BCC) Records, 1966-2011 (RG 244)

The Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center Records document activities and events organized by the center such as staff retreats, Kwanzaa celebrations, Soul Food Day, annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebrations, open house receptions, bowling parties, Black History Month Dinners, and lectures by visiting scholars. The collection includes guest books, newsletters, newspaper clippings, photographs, posters, signs, and a scrapbook. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs.

The photographs include about 1100 prints and 500 negatives (primarily color) and depict events and programs at the Center as well as students and staff affiliated with the Center in portrait images and groups photographs. Photographs of displays and exhibits as well as the Center building are included. Digital photographs of Center activities, including a tour of the Center by elementary school children, are stored on three compact discs (CDs) that are part of the collection.

The scrapbook consists primarily of newspaper clippings and copies of clippings documenting Center activities as well as the history of the Center and the 1969 Black Student Union walkout. In addition to OSU-related materials, some of the newspaper clippings pertain to Corvallis City Manager Gerald Seals.

Digitized versions of 4 photograph albums are available here. They include images of open houses at the Center; annual events such as Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebrations, Kwanzaa, and Black History Month; retreats; the 1996 boycott; Jesse Jackson's visit to Oregon State in 1992; fashion shows; the dedication of Carrie Halsell Hall; and students and staff affiliated with the Center. The original albums have been retained by the Center.

Oregon Multicultural Archives Blog Post

This post is a combination of a set of documents from the OSU Black Cultural Center:

  1. A binder with materials dated 1974-1980
  2. A folder from the Memorial Union Records collection.

The original binder and a copy of the binder (a physical display binder accessible to the public) are with the OSU BCC. The original materials within the MU Records, the "Black Cultural Center" folder, is housed in the OSU Special Collections & Archives Research Center, MU Records Accession #2015:003.

  • OSU’s Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center, 1974-1980, binder documents include:
    • Advisory Board and Contract
    • Meeting Minutes
    • Inventory Reports
    • Budgets
    • Reports/Proposals
    • Position Description
    • Correspondence
  • The Memorial Union Records, “Black Cultural Center”, 1975-1984, folder includes:
    • Materials related to all Cultural Centers
    • Multicultural Advisory Board Meeting Minutes
    • BCC Lonnie B. Harris Name Change information
    • Documentation pertaining to the Black Youth of America
    • Vandalism that occurred at the BCC
    • BCC Events
    • Budget information
    • Position descriptions
    • Meeting minutes
    • Agreements.

Oregon Multicultural Communities Research Collection (OMCRC)

The OMCRC is an artificial collection containing items of interest about multicultural communities within Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.

  • Box-Folder 1.7: Black Cultural Center - Lonnie B. Harris, 1977-2017