Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives Research Center Anti-Racist Actions

We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; this guide provides more information regarding our anti-racist actions.

Statement on Anti-racist Description

 

We acknowledge that harmful language and imagery impacts those accessing our collections and has the potential to perpetuate systemic discrimination and cultural bias. Certain collection materials held by the Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC), and the language used to describe them, may include harmful language and overt expressions of bigotry or bias, as well as outdated cultural or geographical references and stereotypes. Providing access to these historical materials does not endorse any attitudes, prejudices, or behaviors depicted therein.

Archivists are not, and cannot, be neutral, and we openly and vehemently reject the biased views represented by harmful language and attitudes in our collections. We recognize, however, these viewpoints illustrate social mindsets and perspectives of their time, and that such stories cannot be erased when providing a truthful history of who we are. We do not intend to hide any aspects of our collections, and believe in the importance of fostering access to our resources in a responsible and transparent way.

We commit to embedding these practices across every facet of our work on a continual basis.

About SCARC

The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:

We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; for more information please see our SCARC Anti-Racist Actions Statement.

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.

Contact Us

Your archivists are here to help!

Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.