LibGuides: BRR 100: Great Experiments in Bioresource Sciences: Explore Search Tools

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Start Broadly - Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Start Broadly - Web of Science

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with scholarly articles from thousands of journals. Because it highlights connections between articles, it's a great place to start your research.

Click the Find it @ OSU button to get to the full-text of the article.

Health, Toxicology & Genetics Databases

Medline (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides access to scholarly articles on medicine, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, genetics research, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users
Morphobank This link opens in a new window
A web application with tools and archives for evolutionary research, specifically systematics. Provide tools for the expansion and modernization of phylogenetic work on the phenotype.
TOXLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
TOXLINE offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.

Find more database suggestions on the Health Sciences guide and the Environmental & Molecular Toxicology guide.

Environmental Sciences Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, government reports, books, dissertations and conference papers covering all biological and ecological aspects of marine and freshwater environments.
Abstracts and index: 1978-present

Find more database suggestions on the Environmental Sciences guide

Animal, Plant & Soil Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope.
1910 - present
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. 1970 - present

Find more database suggestions on the Animal Sciences guide, Botany & Plant Pathology guide, and the Crop & Soil Science guide.

Bioengineering Databases

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Index (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics. 1970 - present
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database of its kind, CAB Abstracts gives
instant access to over 11 million research records across agriculture,
the environment, and applied life sciences. It is one of the most trusted
databases in the applied life sciences by researchers, librarians, faculties,
students, and practitioners alike.

Find more database suggestions on the Biological & Ecological Engineering guide.

Education Databases

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles, government and independent reports and conference papers covering all areas of education at all levels.
1966-present. Includes links to full-text journal articles when available. EDRS documents that are not available online may be located in the OSU Valley Library microfiche collection by ED number. 1966 - present
Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Education Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source provides indexing and abstracts for 6. million articles found within more than 3,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals and 530 books and monographs. Also provided are numerous education-related conference papers, and 475 videos from Simple K12.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of psychology including animal, applied, clinical, developmental, educational, general, human experimental, general, physiological, social and sport psychology, and treatment and prevention.

Find more database suggestions on the Education guide.

Pharmacy Databases

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Scholar provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world's largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world's largest collection of organic substance records. 1907-present
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to research articles covering all areas of medicine including clinical and experimental medicine; dentistry; health care administration; microbiology; nursing; paramedical professions; pathology; pharmacology; physiology; reproductive biology; psychiatry; psychology; toxicology; and veterinary medicine. PubMed is direct from the National Library of Medicine web site.
Abstracts and index: 1966-present
Proxy enabled to ensure optimal access for ONID users

Find more database suggestions on the Pharmacy guide.

Forestry Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope.
1910 - present
Treesearch: USDA Forest Service Research Publications This link opens in a new window
Treesearch contains peer reviewed, published research findings of the U.S. Forest Service. Includes not only agency publications, but also articles from journals, conference proceedings, and books whose authors are employed by the Forest Service.

Find more database suggestions on the Forestry guide.

Libraries

BRR 100: Great Experiments in Bioresource Sciences

Librarian