LibGuides: *Biological & Ecological Engineering: Find articles

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to. If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

Search Tips

Combine terms using "AND" or "OR"

AND narrows your search (fewer results);
OR broadens your search (more results) - use between synonyms

For more successful searches:

Generate synonyms for keywords before you begin searching. Having a list of synonyms will help you if any of your keywords do not retrieve many results.
Look at the subject headings that are used in the database records you've retrieved. These subject headings may lead you to keywords that you had not considered.

Google Scholar

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Learn Google search operators

Recommended Databases for BEE

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)
1967 - present
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present

Web of Science
The web version of Science Citation Index (SCI) and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Compendex (Engineering Index)
Covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
ASABE Technical Library
The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Technical Library provides full text access to journals, conference proceedings, and electronic books.
Coverage Dates: 1998 - present

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
SYNTHESIS is an innovative information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print and digital publications. Access includes Synthesis collections 1-4. This includes 100 titles in Collection 1 and 125 Titles in Collection 2 Collections 3 and 4 are still growing. This subscription is shared between OSU and U of O. The Synthesis Collections are comprised of short, authoritative electronic books (50-70 pages) that provide a grounding in a particular topic area. They are ideal as supplementary material for courses, or for researchers delving into new areas.

Finding the full text of an article

Look for the button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan. On average, articles arrive digitally within one business day.

Libraries

*Biological & Ecological Engineering

Librarian

Where can I get more help?

Start Broadly - 1Search

Search Tips

Google Scholar

Recommended Databases for BEE

Finding the full text of an article

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches