Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Biological & Ecological Engineering

This is a general research guide for the undergraduate and graduate courses in OSU's Biological and Ecological Engineering programs. You'll find suggestions for locating books, articles, topical overviews, research tools, and factual information.

US Government Reports

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Searches EPA's technical reports and other publications, including test methods and over 33, 000 environmental publications

US Geological Services (USGS) Publications Warehouse
Goes back to 1880 and has over 40, 000 full text reports, as well as citations for over 70, 000 reports.  If you can't get the USGS report you need here, contact your librarian, we may have it in the library.

USGS Water Resources of the United States
Data, publications, maps and other water information collected by state. 

Finding NTIS reports

OSU Libraries owns most of the reports distributed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) since 1963. The NTIS report collection is on microfiche on the 3rd floor of the Valley Library.  Some of the reports are available in print or online. Not all of the reports that OSU Libraries have access to appear in the OSU Libraries' 1Search.

Search NTIS publications

Oregon Environmental Reports

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Oregon DEQ is a regulatory agency with responsibilties to protect the quality of Oregon's environment.Links on this web site of particular interest are the Publications and Fact Sheets, the Databases (including water quality).  There are also links to laws and regulations and to permits and licenses. 

Images of Oregon

For images of Oregon's landscape over time, see the OSU Archives Flickr Collection, especially the Oregon 150 Basins collection.

 Clackamas River Dam 

Clackamas River Dam, image courtesy of OSU Special Collections & Archives Research Center, Past and Future of Forests Flickr Collection