Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WAYS TO LEARN ABOUT PROHIBITION
The 18th Amendment of the United States Constitution mandated the prohibition of the sale and import of "intoxicating liquors" in the United States. This nationwide ban lasted from 1920 to 1933. The 21st Amendment, ratified in December 1933, repealed the 18th Amendment and ended Prohibition.
The Library of Congress has an excellent Guide to Historic Sources on the Alcoholic Beverage Industry, which includes sources that examine the history of the temperance movement and prohibition in the United States. The bibliography on the Temperance Movement and Prohibition contains a list of books, articles, and other materials found in the Library of Congress Online Catalog. Use these titles to search in the OSU Libraries catalog or on Hathi Trust, Google Books, and the Internet Archive.
In addition to have great historical information, the Prohibition Wikipedia page has a robust set of related readings and references. The "See also" will route you to other pages that might help you with related topics.
The Westerville History Center & Museum has a collection of Prohibition and Temperance materials.
The Woman’s Christian Temperance Union was founded in Ohio in 1874, and Frances Willard was elected WCTU’s president in 1879.
- Beienburg, Sean. Prohibition, the Constitution, and states' rights, 2020.
- Engdahl, Sylvia. Prohibition. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2013.
- Hernández, Carlos Eduardo. "Adaptation and survival in the brewing industry during prohibition." Unpublished, UCLA (2016).
- Hernandez Castillo, Carlos Eduardo. "Technology Adoption and Product Diversification in the Brewing Industry over the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries." PhD diss., UCLA, 2016.
- Kassens, Alice Louise. Intemperate spirits: economic adaptation during prohibition, 2019.
- Lewis, Michael, and Richard F. Hamm. Prohibition's greatest myths: the distilled truth about America's anti-alcohol crusade, 2020.
- McGirr, Lisa. The War on Alcohol: Prohibition and the Rise of the American State. New York: W.W. Norton, 2016.
- Rose, Kenneth D. American Women and the Repeal of Prohibition. New York: New York University Press, 1997.
- Sanders, Paul D. Lyrics and Borrowed Tunes of the American Temperance Movement. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006.
- Sasso, Peter. Prohibition, the Great War, and Political Advocacy: The Wartime Campaign for Prohibition. MA Thesis, University of Waterloo, 2010.
- Burns, Ken, Novick, Lynn, and Kanopy. Prohibition. San Francisco, California, USA]: Kanopy Streaming, 2015.
Things to know
- America wasn't the only country with alcohol prohibition.
PROHIBITION AT THE OSU LIBRARY
There are many excellent resources available for researching the prohibition of alcohol in America, including archival collections and books available in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center.
- The Anti-saloon League year book (1908-1931)
- Cherrington, Ernest Hurst, and Anti-saloon League of America, Issuing Body. The Anti-saloon League Year Book : An Encyclopedia of Facts and Figures Dealing with the Liquor Traffic and the Temperance Reform.
- The Ruth Tibbits Tooze papers (1938-1940)
- Tooze, Ruth Tibbits, Loyal Temperance Legion, Woman's Christian Temperance Union, and Youth Temperance Council. Ruth Tibbits Tooze Papers, 1938-1940.
- The Fred Eckhardt papers (1879-2013)
- Eckhardt, Fred. Fred Eckhardt Papers, 1879-2013 (bulk 1970-2010).
The words you use in your searches matter. For example, note the differences in these search results:
Try searching several different ways and in multiple places for the most comprehensive results list.
- Prohibition search results lists:
- Anti Saloon League search results lists:
- Temperance search results lists:
- Women social reformers search results lists:
ORGANIZATIONS AND AGENCIES
Many temperance societies, associations, and government agencies published materials to distribute to their members, share with the media, and give to their opponents. Linked below are publications in the Library of Congress catalog, but you can also use the name of the organization to search in our library catalog or on other online sites.
SUBJECTS AND HEADINGS
Linked below are selected subject headings from the Library of Congress catalog. As with the organizations and agencies listed on this page, you can use these subjects to search in our library catalog or on other online sites.
Prohibition in Oregon
Prohibition features prominently into the story of beer in Oregon, but also into the story of statehood. Conversations about banning alcohol actually pre-date statehood, but when the Oregon's Woman's Christian Temperance Union held its first meeting in 1883 at a Methodist church a few blocks from Weinhard's brewery, the so-called "Bonnet Brigade" became an unstoppable political force.
Read more about the story of Prohibition in Oregon on the Brewstorian blog.
- Additon, Lucia H. Faxon. Twenty Eventful Years of Oregon Woman's Christian Temperance Union, 1880-1900. Statistical, Historical and Biographical. Portraits of Prominent Pioneer Workers. Portland, Or.: Gotshall Printing Company, 1904.
- Bootlegger’s paradise: Oregon’s Prohibition adventures
- Caswell, John E. "The Prohibition Movement in Oregon: Part 1, 1836-1904." Oregon Historical Quarterly 39, no. 3 (1938): 235-61.
- Caswell, John E. "The Prohibition Movement in Oregon II. 1904-1915." Oregon Historical Quarterly 40, no. 1 (1939): 64-82.
- Crawford, Helen. Oregon Woman's Christian Temperance Union: Ninety Years. Portland, Or.: Union, 1973.
- Dundas, Zach. The Scandalous History of Booze in Portland. Portland Monthly. 11/23/2015
- Jansson, Kyle R. "The Changing Climate of Oregon's Driest Town: Monmouth's Prohibition Ordinances, 1859-2001." Oregon Historical Quarterly 102, no. 3 (2001): 336-51.
- Pennock, Pamela, and K Austin Kerr. 2005. "In the Shadow of Prohibition: Domestic American Alcohol Policy since 1933". Business History. 47 (3): 383-400.
- Platt, Amy E. “The Moon Shines on the Moonshine”: An Oregon Bootlegging Story. April 14, 2020.
- Reed, Doug., and Oregon. Criminal Justice Division. Organized Crime Unit. The Violation of Prohibition Laws in the Pacific Northwest: A Study in Organized Crime, Enforcement, and Political Corruption. Salem, Or.: Organized Crime Unit, 1978.
- Smith, Lyndsay Danielle, "A Temperate and Wholesome Beverage: the Defense of the American Beer Industry, 1880-1920" (2018). Dissertations and Theses.