Nuclear history is one of the deepest and broadest strengths in the collections of the Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC). Portions of our rare book collections, together with selected manuscript and archival collections, cover nearly every facet of this topic in some way. This subject guide explores our holdings across these collections, and highlights many of the sub-topics of nuclear history present in the collections.
Each section begins with an overview of collection strengths and suggested keywords to use across library platforms. Search these keywords in 1Search, SCARC Finding Aids, Oregon Digital, or MediaSpace.
Collections listed in this guide are identified by title and are described in a brief statement on the relevant contents of the collection.
All collections listed in this guide are open for research. Some collections, however, are not yet fully processed, arranged, or described. The titles of these collections have been marked with an asterisk, e.g. Eugene Starr Papers, 1911-1988.*
This guide is not intended as a comprehensive review of all of SCARC's rich and diverse collections, content, and formats, but rather as an initial access point for SCARC collections related to nuclear history at Oregon State University and beyond.
Nuclear Engineering LibGuide
This comprehensive guide by Engineering Librarian Adam Lindsley gives research tips and resources for every nuclear engineering research need.
Linus Pauling and the International Peace Movement
Incorporating over 500 scanned documents, photographs, audio clips and video excerpts, this web resource details the Paulings' activism efforts towards international peace.
Dear Professor Einstein: The Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists in Post-War America
This online exhibit details the history of this important activist committee founded by Leo Szilard and Albert Einstein, and including Linus Pauling as a member. Hundreds of letters presented in the exhibit were crowd-sourced for transcriptions in 2014-2015.
Atomic Energy and Nuclear History Learning Curriculum
A 2010 online exhibit tracing the development of the atomic age from the discovery of radioactivity in the late 1800s to the close of the Cold War near the end of the twentieth century.
Linus Pauling Day by Day
This incredible day-by-day accounting of the Paulings' work and life through the documents in their collection is a remarkable resources for in-depth research.
The Pauling Blog
Hundreds of researched essays about the life and work of Ava Helen and Linus Pauling.
The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:
We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; for more information please see our SCARC Anti-Racist Actions Statement.
The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.
See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.
See our comprehensive Guide to SCARC for more information about visiting!
