SCARC Collection Strengths
Keywords and Starting Points
Search these in 1Search, SCARC Finding Aids, Oregon Digital, MediaSpace
See especially
American Reactions
Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera, 1897-2017
This collection includes many newspapers, clippings, press releases, and photographs documenting the announcements of the bombings and reflecting the reactions of citizens hearing the news. It is particularly strong in newspapers from the days after, and includes employee newspapers from Hanford, Oak Ridge, and Los Alamos.
Theodore Rockwell Papers, 1915-2013
The Theodore Rockwell Papers document the life and career of Ted Rockwell, a member of the Manhattan Project, technical director for the U.S. Navy's nuclear propulsion initiative under Admiral H. G. Rickover, and co-founder of engineering firm MPR Associates, Inc. and nuclear advocacy group Radiation, Science, and Health, Inc. Series 3: Early Development of Nuclear Energy includes correspondence, design documents, and reference materials from the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) in Oak Ridge, Tennessee where Rockwell worked as a process improvement engineer and a radiation shielding engineer between 1943 and 1949. Of particular note is a series of correspondence from Rockwell to his parents documenting his life and work from 1940-1946 at Princeton and ORNL, including observations of life at ORNL, descriptions of his day-to-day activities, and newsclippings and discussion of the significance of atomic energy following the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
Anne Frewerd Scrapbook, 1945
The Anne Frewerd Scrapbook consists of mementos from her time working at Los Alamos, New Mexico for the Manhattan Project in 1945. Included are souvenir and personal photographs, newspaper clippings covering the bomb dropped on Hiroshima, and other ephemera related to her work in Los Alamos, including a telegram and pin. The contents of this scrapbook have been digitized and is available upon request.
Buena Maris Mockmore Papers, 1916-2010
The Buena Maris Mockmore Papers consist of materials created and assembled by Buena Margason Maris Mockmore Steinmetz documenting her life and work, both at Oregon State College (OSC) and Iowa State University, and her work for the Manhattan Project. News clippings in Box-Folder 2.9 document the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima on August 6, 1945, and the work at Hanford that preceded it. Also included are clippings documenting the 50th anniversary of the Manhattan Project at Hanford.
American Occupation
East Asia Military Deployment Photograph Album, 1941-1954
The East Asia Military Deployment Photograph Album is composed of 66 mounted photographs, 21 loose photographs, three newspaper clippings, a Christmas card, and a leaflet. The materials document an unknown United States Marine Corp officer's experiences in East Asia and Bermuda between 1941 and 1954. The photographs document the soldier's stay in Hiroshima, Japan in June 1953 and time stationed in Korea in September and October 1953. The photos taken in Japan include images of soldiers and the military base at Etajima, street views, the Hiroshima Memorial and ruins, Japanese actors filming on location, and the scrapbook's creator and other soldiers dining and recreating at the Yamato Hotel. There are also three photographs of Iwo Jima taken from a plane in flight. The contents of this collection have been digitized and are available upon request.
Honoring Victims and Survivors
Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera, 1897-2017
This collection also contains a rare visitors pamphlet for Hiroshima in 1949 reflecting the consequences of the bomb, including the presence of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission. A large packet of information about the bombings is present in Box-Folder 5-19 created for the World Conference Against A & H Bombs in 1992, as well as a pamphlet (Box-Folder 3.40) from the First Global Radiation Victims Conference in September 1987. Box-Folder 3.94 contains postcards of Hiroshima and Nagasaki from after the bombings.
Nuclear Free America Records, 1945-2003
The Nuclear Free America Records document the activities of this nonprofit resource center throughout the lifetime of the organization. Nuclear Free America facilitated a worldwide antinuclear movement to create "nuclear free zones" (NFZs) or communities where nuclear production, testing, waste, and transportation activities were banned. Box-Folder 3.15 contains conference materials from the Second Global Radiation Victims Conference in 1992.
History of Atomic Energy Collection, 1897-2017
The rare books component of this collection has many titles on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Many were produced in the years just after the bomb was dropped, including reports on medical and psychological effects, first-hand accounts (including John Hersey's famous article) and early publications from post-bomb Hiroshima including photographs of the bombing. Later materials include children's books, fiction, and art drawn by survivors. The subcollection of the Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of the Atomic Age also brings a wealth of material to this subject, including accounts of post-war rebuilding, tourist publications for the two cities, and published remembrances from later periods. The collection has a number of materials related to the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission in Hiroshima.
Oregon Digital
Materials from the Daily Barometer and campus coverage, as well as oral history transcripts from the Japanese-American Association of Lane County, Oregon, Oral History Collection, 1994-2008.
MediaSpace
Oral history interview recordings from Japanese-Americans, veterans, and Linus Pauling, as well as a 1961 recorded panel on peace.
ScholarsArchive
OSU scholarship involving the atomic bomb.
