SCARC Collection Strengths
Keywords and Starting Points
See especially
Nuclear Science at OSU
How OSU Grew Nuclear Science Oral Histories Collection
The How OSU Grew Nuclear Science Oral Histories consist of interviews of Oregon State University faculty and alumni in the Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Health Physics Department that were conducted in 2009 as part of the 50th anniversary of the graduate program.
Radiation Center Records, 1969-2000
The Radiation Center Records are comprised of materials generated between 1953 and 2008 documenting the creation and operation of the Oregon State University Radiation Center. The collection includes reports, grant proposals, and other documents representing the initial formulation, planning, and construction of the Radiation Center; materials recording the maintenance and growth of the Center through facilities expansions, operation of new instrumentation, and management of radioactive materials; contracts, lab reports, correspondence, photos, and experimental data generated through research conducted by the Radiation Center on behalf of OSU, the U.S. Army, Oregon law enforcement agencies, and academic and corporate partners; and administrative committee records, annual reports, procedure and policy guides, photographs, newsclippings and promotional materials, and other office files representing the day-to-day operations of the Radiation Center. Of particular interest are the neutron activation analyses done for Oregon law enforcement agencies in Series 2, as well as the neutron radiography done for multiple parties. This subseries includes contracts, research materials, reports, and photographs generated from radiograph analysis ammunition on behalf of the U.S. Army. This subseries also contains materials from other radiography experiments, including analysis of Exxon fuel elements, theses produced by students using the Center's radiography equipment, a research proposal, a presentation, and professional literature.
Chih Wang Papers, 1947-1984
The Wang Papers document Wang's career, the founding and development of the OSU Radiation Center, and the growth of nuclear science research and training during the 1960s and 1970s. The collection also includes records of research conducted by the OSU Chemistry Department and at the OSU Radiation Center in cooperation with the Atomic Energy Commission, the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Navy, Exxon, DARPA (Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency), the U.S. Air Force, and others; correspondence and administrative files from workshops, conferences, and training programs including the Academic Year Institute in Nuclear Science and a multi-year training program for employees of the Taiwan Power Company (TaiPower); and records of the founding, growth, and operation of the OSU Radiation Center.
Te May Ching Papers, 1947-1988
The Te May Ching Papers consist of teaching and research records created and assembled by Te May Tsou Ching, professor of seed physiology at Oregon State University from 1956 to 1988. Ching's research efforts focused predominately on seed physiology with an emphasis on storage, dormancy, germination, and purity testing. Her research is documented in her research files, laboratory notebooks, publications, professional activities records, and correspondence. Of special interest is her work on germinating irradiated wheat in Series 5: Research Files. The majority of the publications in Series 5: Publications relate to seed germination, including hanges occurring during germination, and effects of specific processes like irradiation on germination).
Arthur W. Anderson Papers
The Arthur W. Anderson Papers contain biographical materials, correspondence, a lab notebook, publications, reference materials and subject files, and photographs. Topics of research in these records include food-borne pathogens and toxins, food irradiation and preservation, mushrooms and fungi, and single-cell protein generation from agricultural and industrial waste. Of particular interest are articles and reference materials documenting Anderson’s isolation and subsequent investigations of the radiation-resistant bacterium micrococcus radiodurans.
Roman Schmitt Papers
Specializing in the field of cosmochemistry, Schmitt used neutron activiation analysis in the research of moon rocks collected as a part of the NASA Apollo Sample Return Program. His small collections contains materials on this research, as well as materials on Schmitt's chemistry courses "Radioactive Tracer Methods" (CHM 419) and "Experimental Nuclear Chemistry" (CHM 515).
College of Engineering Records, 1930-2002
These records were generated and assembled by the College of Engineering and document the administration of the College and the instructional, research, and professional activities of engineering faculty at Oregon State University. Of particular interest to these topics are materials on nuclear engineering and the Radiation Center, found throughout the collection.
College of Science Records, 1880-2015
The College of Science Records document the administrative activities of the College of Science at Oregon State University from its founding in 1932. The records include administrative records, biographical files for select faculty and staff of the college, correspondence, department histories, college publications, newspaper clippings, photographs, and microfilmed correspondence and reports. Notable in this theme are materials on Radiation Biology in Series 1: Administrative Records.
Beyond OSU
Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera, 1897-2017
The Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera consists of printed ephemera produced from the late 19th century to the present day. The materials comprise broad coverage of many scientific, religious, cultural, industrial, political, environmental, and other aspects of nuclear history. Early nuclear science is well represented and includes materials on radium, X-rays, and radioactivity.
Nuclear Science Technical Reports, 1946-1979
The Nuclear Science Technical Reports Collection is an artificial collection of papers issued by a variety of both government and government-contracted organizations focused on the research, application and development of nuclear sciences, nuclear energy and reactor design. Additionally, the collection includes reports and translations from international organizations as well as reports concerning experimental procedures, public policy, radiation exposure, radiochemical analysis and relevant conceptual theory. Research organizations represented in the collection include, but are not limited to: Argonne National Laboratory (ANL), Atomic Energy of Canada (AECL), Batelle Memorial Labs (BMI), DuPont (DP), Hanford Works (HW), General Electric (GEMP), and Phillips Petroleum (IDO).
History of Atomic Energy Collection
This vast collection documents the history of nuclear physics, radiation, and radium studies from 1896 into the Manhattan Project and beyond. This collection contains a wealth of original editions between 1897 and 1939 tracing the sequence of discoveries that revealed the feasibility of the release of energy on a large scale by means of a fission chain reaction in uranium. The early studies on radioactivity include rare early journals and foundational discoveries. The collection has some materials on radium and early nuclear science in popular culture. This collection includes hundreds of biographies of key early figures, such as Marie Curie, Ernst Rutherford, and Niels Bohr. Post-war, nuclear science is found in hundreds of popular periodicals and magazines, guides for popular readers, and influential textbooks, books, and offprints. The collection is very strong in peaceful applications of nuclear science including works related to Atoms for Peace, radioisotopes in health and medicine and agricultural uses.
History of Science Rare Book Collection
This large collection contains hundreds of items related to early nuclear science between 1895 and 1939, including works on atomic theory, radioactivity, Roentgen and X-rays, and quantum mechanics. Rare materials from the Curies, Niels Bohr, and Robert Millikan, and Max Born are included here. Crystallography is a related strength. Later nuclear science materials include rare course materials such as Enrico Fermi's course on Nuclear Physics at the University of Chicago, popular guides, and biographies.
Oregon Digital
Results for nuclear science include Radiation Center photographs, histories of nuclear science at OSU, and oral history transcripts. Also try keywords listed above.
Media Space
Results for nuclear include oral histories with nuclear chemists, physicists, and engineers, as well as videos of Linus Pauling interviews.
ScholarsArchive
Results for nuclear science show a wealth of OSU scholarship on many topics in nuclear science.
