SCARC Collection Strengths
Keywords and Starting Points
Search these in 1Search, SCARC Finding Aids, Oregon Digital, MediaSpace
See especially
At Oregon State
Chih H. Wang Papers, 1947-1984
Chih H. Wang was Professor of Chemistry, Director of the Radiation Center, and Head of the Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering at Oregon State University. He was responsible for the growth of nuclear science research on the Oregon State University campus and the creation of the OSU Radiation Center. Materials about nuclear power, nuclear reactors, and nuclear engineering in general are throughout the collection. Materials related to environmental concerns appear throughout the collection and include Wang's research on "Studies on Environmental Pollution by Missile Propellants" for the U. S. Air Force.
John C. Ringle Papers, 1960-2012
As a professor of Nuclear Engineering at OSU, Ringle taught courses in nuclear reactor engineering, nuclear safety, kinetics, reactor analysis, and reactor operation. Notably, he also served as the Assistant Reactor Administrator from 1966 to 1980. He oversaw the final construction of OSU’s TRIGA reactor, operated and maintained both the TRIGA and AGN-201 reactors, supervised upgrades to the TRIGA reactor and the decommissioning and dismantlement of the AGN-201 reactor, and provided training and supervision to student and civil service reactor operators. Ringle also maintained a vigorous research agenda and produced numerous papers and presentations on nuclear reactor safety, the environmental impact of nuclear power, nuclear waste storage, and the operation of research reactors. Series 2: Research and Publications include materials on the environmental impact of nuclear power, nuclear waste management; Series 3: Professional and Civic Activities includes his writing on nuclear waste management and pollution.
Radiation Center Records, 1969-2000
The Radiation Center Records contains materials generated between 1953 and 2008 documenting the creation and operation of the Oregon State University Radiation Center. construction on the OSU Radiation Center began in early 1964. Laboratory space in the Center was occupied as early as August 1964. In January 1967, a 250 kilowatt research reactor (Oregon State Triga Mark II Reactor) was completed. Under the guidance of the Center's first director, Chih H. Wang, the reactor was upgraded to a 1 megawatt output and the Radiation Center facilities were expanded significantly to include radiography facilities, a Co-60 gamma irradiator, an x-ray generator, and other highly specialized equipment. The Radiation Center housed the Nuclear Engineering Program, provided instruction and access for dozens of courses annually, and engaged in a major reactor use sharing program with other institutions in Oregon and beyond. The collection contains materials throughout related to environmental impact, waste disposal, and pollution.
Beyond Oregon State
Roy Haber Hanford Nuclear Reservation Downwinders Case Collection, 1942-1997
This large collection contains research materials used by the law office of Roy Haber, in litigation regarding radiation exposure suffered by individuals living close to (or 'downwind' from) Hanford from 1945 to the mid 1990s. Materials range from expert testimonies to copies of original documents from the Department of Energy and other agencies.
Nuclear Free America Records, 1945-2003
The Nuclear Free America Records document the activities of this nonprofit resource center throughout the lifetime of the organization. Nuclear Free America facilitated a worldwide antinuclear movement to create "nuclear free zones" (NFZs) or communities where nuclear production, testing, waste, and transportation activities were banned. During its 15 years of operation, more than 200 NFZ declarations were passed by 4,500 local governments in 26 nations worldwide. The collection includes administrative records, records of nuclear free zone declarations by localities around the world, and extensive files related to affiliated antinuclear organizations. Series 5: Related Organizations collects materials from a number of environmental activist and social justice organizations both small and large. These include Concerned Citizens for Nuclear Safety, Greenpeace, the Indigenous Environmental Network, NukeWatch, the Peace Boat, SANE/Freeze, and the World Information Service on Energy (WISE). Series 6: Subject Files contains similar materials to those found in Series 5, but are arranged by subject focus. Files on the Hanford Site and the Trojan Nuclear Power Plant document Pacific Northwest issues, and more general files on topics such as pro-nuclear campaigns and economic justice show the breadth and depth of Nuclear Free America's concerns.
Theodore Rockwell Papers, 1915-2013
Rockwell was the technical director for the U.S. Navy's nuclear propulsion initiative under Admiral H. G. Rickover, and co-founder of engineering firm MPR Associates, Inc. and nuclear advocacy group Radiation, Science, and Health, Inc. Series 6 is about this group and includes files on "Environmentalists for Nuclear Energy" and materials documenting RSH's 2000-2003 challenge to the Environmental Protection Agency's rules on radionuclides in drinking water. This includes several editions of RSH's report "Low Level Radiation Health Effects: Compiling the Data," an official response to the EPA's drinking water policy, and documentation from a lawsuit filed against the EPA by the city of Waukesha, Wisconsin, the Nuclear Energy Institute, Inc., the National Mining Association, and RHS, Inc.
Barton C. Hacker Papers, 1955-1995
The Barton C. Hacker Papers contain reports of and files on radiation exposure by members of the Armed Forces witnessing nuclear weapons tests in the years following World War II, stemming from Hacker's research for projects on dosimetry. Hacker's papers document his career as a historian of radiation safety, and primarily consist of materials related to his service as historian to the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Dosimetry Research Project, beginning in 1979. The collection also contains general research materials, committee documents, and conference proceedings and papers.
David A. Marcus Letters, 1972-1985
The David A. Marcus Letters are comprised of correspondence between Marcus and politicians, peace activists, religious leaders, scientists, and intellectuals between 1972 and 1983. Topics include the potential for nuclear conflict, the need for a global peace organization, and the future of humankind. Box 1 includes a letter series on global environmental problems and the environmental effects of nuclear war.
History of Atomic Energy Collection
The largest collection of nuclear history materials in SCARC, this collection contains materials about radiation exposure, health, and safety from the days of early science through the present day. Human radiation exposure and related topics are a particular subject strength of the collection; these include dosimetry, adverse health effects, and radiation safety. Radioactive fallout is a primary topic. Mining and its related environmental concerns are well represented in the collection. Nuclear accidents and incidents such as Three Mile Island and Chernobyl are widely represented through reports, government documents, and later publications. Radioactive waste and nuclear pollution are widely covered. Works on background environmental radiation and environmental monitoring are also present.
Oregon Digital
Materials on radioactive waste and nuclear pollution include the Barometer, reports from OSU departments, and more.
Media Space
Interviews related to nuclear waste and pollution are found here.
Scholars Archive
Theses, dissertations, and other scholarship from OSU on nuclear waste, nuclear pollution, and radioactive pollution of water.
