SCARC Collection Strengths
Keywords and Starting Points
Search these in 1Search, SCARC Finding Aids, Oregon Digital, MediaSpace
See especially
At Oregon State
E. Dale Trout Papers, 1939-1983
The E. Dale Trout Papers consist of materials created and assembled by Trout and his colleague, John P. Kelley, regarding research on X-ray equipment, diagnostic radiology, and the administration of the X-Ray Science and Engineering Laboratory at Oregon State University. Trout and Kelley were faculty in the OSU Department of General Science beginning in the 1960s. The majority of the Papers documents the work conducted by E. Dale Trout during his service as Director of the X-Ray Science and Engineering Laboratory at OSU, a project conducted in cooperation with the U.S. Bureau of Radiological Health, and includes course manuals for undergraduate and graduate radiology courses, lab equipment contracts, seminar reports, and informational materials for graduate students. The Trout Papers also include publications authored by Trout and Kelley on radiology instrumentation, diagnostic radiology techniques and procedures, and radiation safety; documentation from his tenure as Vice President of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurement.
John C. Ringle Papers, 1960-2012
The John C. Ringle Papers are comprised of materials generated and assembled by John C. Ringle, a professor of Nuclear Engineering at Oregon State University. Series 2 consists of publications generated by John C. Ringle and include articles in newspapers, magazines, and professional journals, interviews, conference papers, and technical reports. The series also contains correspondence, research materials, and other supporting documentation related to Ringle's publications. Topics include reactor safety, the environmental impact of nuclear power, nuclear waste management, and operation and upkeep of TRIGA research reactors.
Radiation Center Records, 1953-2008
These records are comprised of materials generated between 1953 and 2008 documenting the creation and operation of the Oregon State University Radiation Center. The collection contains administrative correspondence; records of the construction, operation, and maintenance of the Center's facilities and equipment; documentation of research conducted by the Radiation Center on behalf of OSU and other academic institutions, the U.S. Army, Oregon law enforcement agencies, and corporate partners; and records of the Center's day-to-day operations including detailed annual reports and records from several advisory groups. Materials on radiation safety and reactor safety are found throughout the collection.
College of Science Records, 1880-2015
The College of Science Records document the administrative activities of the College of Science at Oregon State University from its founding in 1932. The records include administrative records, biographical files for select faculty and staff of the college, correspondence, department histories, college publications, newspaper clippings, photographs, and microfilmed correspondence and reports. Series 1: Administrative Records contains materials on Radiation Health and Radiation Biology coursework as well as radiation dosimetry.
Beyond Oregon State
Barton C. Hacker Papers, 1955-1995
The Barton C. Hacker Papers contain reports of and files on radiation exposure by members of the Armed Forces witnessing nuclear weapons tests in the years following World War II, stemming from Hacker's research for projects on dosimetry. Hacker's papers document his career as a historian of radiation safety, and primarily consist of materials related to his service as historian to the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Dosimetry Research Project, beginning in 1979. The collection also contains general research materials, committee documents, and conference proceedings and papers.
Roy Haber Hanford Nuclear Reservation Downwinders Case Collection, 1942-1997
This large collection contains research materials used by the law office of Roy Haber, in litigation regarding radiation exposure suffered by individuals living close to (or 'downwind' from) Hanford from 1945 to the mid 1990s. Materials range from expert testimonies to copies of original documents from the Department of Energy and other agencies.
Nuclear Free America Records, 1945-2003
The Nuclear Free America Records document the activities of this nonprofit resource center throughout the lifetime of the organization. Nuclear Free America facilitated a worldwide antinuclear movement to create "nuclear free zones" (NFZs) or communities where nuclear production, testing, waste, and transportation activities were banned. During its 15 years of operation, more than 200 NFZ declarations were passed by 4,500 local governments in 26 nations worldwide. The collection includes administrative records, records of nuclear free zone declarations by localities around the world, and extensive files related to affiliated antinuclear organizations.
Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera, 1897-2017
The Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera consists of printed ephemera produced from the late 19th century to the present day. The materials comprise broad coverage of many scientific, religious, cultural, industrial, political, environmental, and other aspects of nuclear history. Materials on radiation exposure and safety are throughout the collection.
Theodore Rockwell Papers, 1915-2013
The Theodore Rockwell Papers document the life and career of Ted Rockwell, a member of the Manhattan Project, technical director for the U.S. Navy's nuclear propulsion initiative under Admiral H. G. Rickover, and co-founder of engineering firm MPR Associates, Inc. and nuclear advocacy group Radiation, Science, and Health, Inc. The collection includes correspondence, publications, research files, administrative documents, and memorabilia from his career. Series 6 is comprised of documents from Radiation, Science, and Health, Inc., a not-for-profit nuclear power advocacy organization founded as a tool for independent radiation experts to influence radiation policy, especially relating to restrictions governing low level radiation. The series includes internal correspondence and documents; promotional correspondence to RSH members and supporters; lobbying correspondence to legislators and other government officials; subject files on radiation exposure; reports from the National Research Council (NRC) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and documents regarding partnerships with the Washington Legal Foundation and Eagle Alliance. Of particular interest are materials documenting RSH's 2000-2003 challenge to the Environmental Protection Agency's rules on radionuclides in drinking water. This includes several editions of RSH's report "Low Level Radiation Health Effects: Compiling the Data," an official response to the EPA's drinking water policy, and documentation from a lawsuit filed against the EPA by the city of Waukesha, Wisconsin, the Nuclear Energy Institute, Inc., the National Mining Association, and RHS, Inc.
History of Atomic Energy Collection
The largest collection of nuclear history materials in SCARC, this collection contains materials about radiation exposure, health, and safety from the days of early science through the present day. Human radiation exposure and related topics are a particular subject strength of the collection; these include dosimetry, adverse health effects, radiation health physics and diagnostic radiation, other medical applications, and radiation safety. Training materials are abundant in the collection, for audiences including nuclear physicists, nuclear engineers, and miners.
Oregon Digital
Results for radiation exposure health and safety include coverage of these topics in campus publications over multiple decades.
Media Space
Results for radiation exposure health and safety include interviews with OSU faculty and alumni from the acclaimed OSU Radiation Health Physics program.
Scholars Archive
Results for radiation exposure and safety include a wealth of material on this topic from multiple OSU perspectives, including historical research, public policy, and nuclear science and engineering.
