Experiment Station Publications Photographic Collection, 1949-1979

The Experiment Station Publications Photographic Collection document Agricultural Experiment Station research in Corvallis and at Branch Stations throughout Oregon. Subjects include Station personnel; Branch station and campus buildings and research facilities; and research projects in agricultural chemistry, agricultural engineering, animal sciences, dairy husbandry, entomology, crop and soil science, fisheries and wildlife, food technology, horticulture, irrigation, microbiology, nutrition, poultry science, and vegetable crops. Of note in the collection are images of various farms and general farm labor. 

Extension Bulletin Illustrations Photograph Collection, 1915-1963

The Extension Bulletin Illustrations Photograph Collection consists of images (primarily black-and-white photographic prints) that were created and assembled for use in Oregon State College Extension Service publications and county reports. They document extension activities in agriculture, home economics, and youth programs. Of particular note are images of the World War II period including Bracero and other farm workers in the Emergency Farm Labor Service; other wartime extension activities; and the relocation of Japanese-Americans residing in Oregon. Search the preliminary inventory for keywords such as migrant, labor, Mexican, or camp.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Records, 1934-2009

The Extension and Experiment Station Communications Records document preparation of publications, news releases, radio programs, and public service announcements by Oregon State University Extension programs in agriculture, home economics, marine resources, and 4-H. In addition, the records document the communication of the results of OSU Agricultural Experiment Station research to the public and other researchers. The records include sound recordings, publication records, and biographical files for Extension agents and specialists.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Photograph Collection, 1912-1997

The Extension and Experiment Station Communications Photograph Collection consists of about 25,500 images generated by Experiment Station staff. These images were used in publications such as Oregon's Agricultural Progress and Pacific Northwest Bulletins as well as news releases, poster presentations and displays. The images depict a variety of OSU research projects, Experiment Station branch facilities, portraits of OSU staff, Extension and Experiment Station-sponsored events, and animal-oriented topics. Search the preliminary inventory for keywords such as migrant, world war, camp, or emergency.

Extension and Experiment Station Communications Moving Images, 1937-2007

This collection contains a number of videos and films that have some relation to the topic of nutrition, primarily dealing with the Extension Station's Expanded Food Nutrition Education Program from the mid-1970s. Many of these are educational "spots" that appeared on local television.

Extension Family and Community Health Program Records, 1956-2012

The Extension Family and Community Health Program Records document educational programs developed and offered by Oregon State Extension faculty for Oregonians. The bulk of the collection consists of slide presentations, workshop leader guides and participant handouts, newsletters and other publications, and video productions on food buying, food preservation, meal preparation, and nutrition. The materials on nutrition are geared to multiple audiences including preschool children, teens, and adults. 

Extension Service Photographs, 1900-2007

The Extension Service Photographs document Extension programs, activities, and staff throughout Oregon as well as Oregon agriculture. The Extension Service was established in Oregon in 1911. The bulk of the collection pertains to the three traditional Extension programmatic areas -- agriculture, home economics, and 4-H. The photographs depict Extension Service programs and staff from all regions of Oregon; however, Benton, Clatsop, Klamath, and Lane Counties are strongly represented. 

Extension Service Records, 1903-2011

The Extension Service Records pertain to the administration and programmatic activities of the Oregon State University Extension Service. The records document policies and procedures, research activities, special events, and services provided to Oregonians at the state and county levels. They also document the service's relationship with the federal government and extension services in other states.

Hop Press Newsletters, 1948-1955  

The Hop Press newsletters, prepared by Hop Specialist G.R. Hoerner, were issued monthly by the Oregon State College Extension Service as a means to provide information on hops and brewing to County Extension Agents in Oregon. This informal publication provides a detailed view of hops growing and production in Oregon and the northwest for this period. Each typewritten, mimeographed, 8-page newsletter includes a variety of announcements and news items regarding hops and brewing in Oregon. The Hop Press includes information about hops growing in Washington, Idaho, and California and was distributed to individuals and organizations outside of Oregon. All issues of the Hop Press are available online.

Oregon State University Extension Association/4-H Records, 1977-1996

The Oregon State University Extension Association/4-H Records document the members, programs, and activities of the professional association of 4-H extension agents in Oregon. The organization was established in 1975 and is affiliated with the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents (NAE4-HA) and the Oregon State University Extension Association. 

Searching the Main Collection through the library catalog is extremely beneficial for sources.  Though the terms and searches may not be obvious in the beginning, the deeper you dig, the better the finds! It's important to note that there is a plethora of sources in the Special Collections and Archives regarding Oregon food and farming, and there's a potential for the sources you do find in 1Search may actually be from Special Collections and Archives.  There is also a good chance many of the sources you find will be available digitally and the catalog will link you to external databases like HathiTrust.  If you're unsure where to go to find a specific resource, don't be afraid to ask a librarian for research tips!

Some key terms that could help with research relevant to Extension and the Agriculture Experiment Station:

• "Extension Bulletin"
• "extension service"
• "experiment station" 
• "4-H" or use the Advanced Search option to limit to results relevant to Oregon!

You can also search for books in our Rare Books collections by searching the library catalogue as well!  To search our book collections specifically, limit your search to "Special Collections and Archives" from the default "Books, media, and articles" in the dropdown menu of the search bar.

Here are the same searches run previously, within SCARC collections:

• "Extension Bulletin"
• "extension service"
• "experiment station" 

ScholarsArchive@OSU is Oregon State University's digital service for gathering, indexing, making available and storing the scholarly work of the Oregon State University community, including theses and dissertations. It also includes materials from outside the institution in support of the university's land, sun, sea and space grant missions and other research interests.

Some key terms to consider when searching ScholarsArchive:

• "Extension Bulletin"
• "extension service"
• "experiment station" 
• "4-H"

OSU MediaSpace is where the OSU community can post recordings, most of which are recent recordings of lectures. classes, or events.  

SCARC's presence on Media Space consists largely of oral history interviews, digitized copies of SCARC films, and presentations hosted by SCARC.

Some keywords to to search include:

• "Extension Bulletin"
• "extension service"
• "experiment station" 
• "4-H"