BIPOC Greek Letter Organizations in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Kappa Delta Chi Sorority is a Latina founded sorority established at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas in 1987, and is a member of the National Association of Latino Fraternal Organizations. Though chartered in 2011 and inducted in 2012, as early as 2008, students were advocating (pg. 3) to establish the group at OSU.

At OSU, Kappa Delta Chi was the first sorority to host a Pride Panel (pg. 1 & 4) in 2013 though the Pride Center and in 2014 in collaboration with the Office of Equity and Inclusion and Project Social Justice. That same year, as another example of Kappa Delta Chi’s work to be an organization dedicated to community service to their local university communities, the sorority hosted an advocate against sex-trafficking (pg. 1 & 4) to speak at OSU.

Archival Resources: All collections listed below are part of SCARC's archival holdings. If materials from those collections have been digitized, it will be noted near the top of the collection's online guide (linked below). Depending on the amount of material and staffing capacity, archival staff may be able to provide digital access to portions of the collections listed below. Please reach out to us by email at scarc@oregonstate.edu to find out more!

• Greek Life Office Records, 1918-2015 (Box-Folder 4.18)
  The Greek Life Office Records document the administration of this office, which regulates and provides support services to the fraternity and sorority community at Oregon State University. These materials were primarily generated by the Greek Life Office and reflect administrative activities such as the development of training workshops/classes, the compilation of membership statistics, collaboration with law enforcement agencies in educational programming, and the evaluation of annual rush activities. The Greek Life Office was established in 1998.

Archival Resources Available Online: The digital materials linked to below are hosted online in our digital repository, Oregon Digital, and exist physically in our archives. Canned search results comprised of only those materials relevant to Kappa Delta Chi's history at OSU are linked to below.

• Oregon Multicultural Archives Oral History Collection, 2011-2024 (Interview with Jasmine Armas)
• Latinos en Oregón Oral History Collection / Colección de Entrevistas Orales, 2015-2017
• The Daily Barometer