BIPOC Greek Letter Organizations in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Delta Sigma Theta's current website notes a statewide chapter was officially chartered in 1945. Archival records indicate that the sorority became active at OSU around 1977. Delta Sigma Theta has a focus on "constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community" and its core tenets are: sisterhood, scholarship, service, and social action. As an inaugural act of service, the 22 charter members participated in the Suffrage March of 1913. The sorority was incorporated in 1930, and to date boosts more than 350,000 members in 1,050 chapters worldwide.

According to the sorority's website, much of Delta Sigma Theta's early philanthropy and service related to the war effort. Post-war, community-centered events (pg. 4-5) have included a children's Halloween party, a Valentine's Day dance, an oratory concert as part of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebrations, and serving meals at Westminster House. On May 10, 2005 (pg. 1 & 6), members of Delta Sigma Theta held the first Carrie Halsell Celebration in honor of the first African American to graduate from OSU. DST's philanthropic organization, the Delta Research and Educational Foundation, "promotes research which identifies and fashions solutions to issues affecting African American women and their families, nationally and globally through funding and support of public service programs of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated and collaborative organizations.".

Archival Resources: All collections listed below are part of SCARC's archival holdings. If materials from those collections have been digitized, it will be noted near the top of the collection's online guide (linked below). Depending on the amount of material and staffing capacity, archival staff may be able to provide digital access to portions of the collections listed below. Please reach out to us by email at scarc@oregonstate.edu to find out more!

• Panhellenic Council Records, 1922-2015 (Box-Folder 4.03)
  The Panhellenic Council Records document the origins, administration, and activities of sororities at Oregon State University. The Panhellenic Council, established in 1917 at OSU, is the governing body for a portion of the sororities at OSU, responsible for creating rules and oversight that is outside of the institution's range.
• Greek Life Office Records, 1918-2015 (Box-Folder 4.8)
  The Greek Life Office Records document the administration of this office, which regulates and provides support services to the fraternity and sorority community at Oregon State University. These materials were primarily generated by the Greek Life Office and reflect administrative activities such as the development of training workshops/classes, the compilation of membership statistics, collaboration with law enforcement agencies in educational programming, and the evaluation of annual rush activities. The Greek Life Office was established in 1998.

Archival Resources Available Online: The digital materials linked to below are hosted online in our digital repository, Oregon Digital, and exist physically in our archives. Canned search results comprised of only those materials relevant to Delta Sigma Theta's history at OSU are linked to below.

• "Black Greeks at OSU" documentary, 2006
• The Daily Barometer
• The Oregon Stater
• OSU Fact Book
• OSU This Week
• Student Handbook
• Oregon Black Pioneers Oral History Collection, 1993-2020 (Interview with Aletha Chavis)