The Kappa chapter of Gamma Alpha Omega was charted at OSU in 2000 and was, at the time (pg. 1 & 3), the first and only Latina sorority in Oregon. Kappa Chapter was the first multicultural sorority founded at Oregon State University. GAO's missions are to "increase number of women with a college education and advanced degrees; provide mentors for youth, women, and underrepresented communities; and provide a family of lifelong support for sisters who live their lives by the pillars of Honesty, Integrity, Leadership, Scholarship, and Unity.". Philanthropically, Gamma Alpha Omega supports two causes: Emeralds for Education and HIV Awareness.

In its outreach and philanthropic activities, GAO has focused on service to Latinx students and the larger Oregon Latinx community. Events organized by GAO include: the National Latino AIDS Awareness Day, and a food and gift drive for migrant families in the region.

Within the campus community, GAO has been an active presence in the organization of events for the annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration and participated in orientation programming for prospective high school students visiting OSU.

Archival Resources: All collections listed below are part of SCARC's archival holdings. If materials from those collections have been digitized, it will be noted near the top of the collection's online guide (linked below). Depending on the amount of material and staffing capacity, archival staff may be able to provide digital access to portions of the collections listed below. Please reach out to us by email at scarc@oregonstate.edu to find out more!

• Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008 (Box-Folder 4.07)
  The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University. The records include annual review forms, constitutions and by-laws, lists of officers and members, and event registration forms. The Office of Student Involvement provides support services to student organizations and oversees the process for annual recognition of clubs and organizations.
• Greek Life Office Records, 1918-2015 (Box-Folder 4.12)
  The Greek Life Office Records document the administration of this office, which regulates and provides support services to the fraternity and sorority community at Oregon State University. These materials were primarily generated by the Greek Life Office and reflect administrative activities such as the development of training workshops/classes, the compilation of membership statistics, collaboration with law enforcement agencies in educational programming, and the evaluation of annual rush activities. The Greek Life Office was established in 1998.
• Educational Opportunities Program Records, 1968-2013 (Digital Folder 142)
  The Educational Opportunities Program (EOP) Records document the materials and activities of the EOP office in its goal to provide support for students who have traditionally been denied access to higher education. This includes the administrative documents and resources of the program, its committees and workshops, as well as the program’s publications. There is also a significant amount of photographic materials documenting program activities.

Archival Resources Available Online: The digital materials linked to below are hosted online in our digital repository, Oregon Digital, and exist physically in our archives. Canned search results comprised of only those materials relevant to Gamma Alpha Omega's history at OSU are linked to below.

• The Daily Barometer