- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:
The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.
See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.
Collections listed in this guide are identified by title and collection number, and are described in a brief statement on the relevant contents of the collection. Relevant subjects, topics, and/or keywords have been bolded, and box and folder information has been included as appropriate.
All collections listed in this guide are open for research. Some collections, however, are not yet fully processed, arranged, or described; the titles of these collections have been marked with an asterisk, e.g. Avery Lodge Records, 1966-2014.*
This guide describes physical collections located in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center. Digitized materials can be located by searching Oregon Digital; where appropriate, links to specific collection material in Oregon Digital have been provided.
Looking for online content? Oregon Digital contains a wealth of digitized materials that document Oregon State University's rich history. Often, digitized materials are gathered together as sets, either by publication or collection. Examples of such sets are listed below. Please note that collection sets listed below are not "canned searches" for specific content, but rather contain all digitized content for those collections.
The Voices of OSU Women oral history project is an incredible, and ever-expanding resource dedicated to presenting women's stories as they have been collected by a broad range of oral historians from the 1970s to today. Included are interviews with generations of alumnae as well as faculty members, staff, and students representing a wide array of disciplines and institutional points of view.
An exhibit, Women's Words, Women's Work: Spaces of Community, change, tradition, and resistance at Oregon State University, which was designed by SCARC faculty and staff and displayed from June through December 2018, exists in an online format here.
To contribute to a safer and healthy community for OSU faculty, staff, and students, as well as the greater Corvallis community, the Special Collections and Archives Research Center will be open by appointment only until further notice.
SCARC staff are committed to mitigating the risks associated with on-site collection consultations through a quarantine period of research materials before and after each appointment, disinfection of surfaces and high-touch points, wearing face coverings, and appropriate physical distancing.
We miss seeing you in our reading room, and while SCARC’s on-site public services are limited at this time, remote reference inquiries are being addressed to the best of our ability. There is a wealth of online content in Oregon Digital, on the SCARC website, in ScholarsArchive@OSU, in SCARC LibGuides, and on OSU MediaSpace, and public services staff are available to assist you in navigating and searching these sites.
See our COVID Services guide for information about our services during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Your archivists are here to help!
Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at email@example.com if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501