Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1886. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Coverage Dates: 1886 - present
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online is a subscription-based service offering information on approximately 15,000 NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ companies. The service also provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations. Company information comprises that of all of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals except for the Municipal & Government Manual. Annual and quarterly financials date back 15 years, annual reports date back to 1996 or 1997, and SEC filings date back to 1993. Information available for each company includes: company history, business, property, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, exchange and ticker symbol, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustees, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history and more.
Coverage Dates: varies
- Mintel Market Research Reports
Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Users will need to create a profile to use the database.
Coverage Dates: - present
Free registration required. SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, SimplyMap has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training.
Coverage Dates: 2000 - present
- Business Insights: Global
Global Company and Industry Intelligence
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
These are available to OSU students, staff and faculty ONLY. You must usually register with the database to gain access.
- First Research
First Research® from Mergent provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 900 industry segments. Profiles are comprehensive and includes the following: • Condensed industry profile overview in addition to the traditional full profile overview • The competitive landscape • Products, operations and technology • Finance and regulation • Regional and international issues • Human resources • Labor statistics
- Import Genius
ImportGenius.com now provides Oregon State University students and faculty with the largest data set on the activities of companies involved in international trade. The company collects and organizes hundreds of millions of shipping manifests and customs records from government agencies and private companies around the world. Students and faculty can now access these datasets to research private and public companies to find out what they import and export, learn who their trading partners are, analyze industry trends, and more.
Signup with OSU email is required for free account.>/i>
- WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
WRDS is the de facto standard for business data, providing researchers worldwide with instant access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface. This hosted data service has become the locus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.
To obtain a user account for WRDS, OSU students and faculty will be required to register for a free account.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Full-text and abstract/index: 1975-present
- LexisNexis Academic
Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
- Business & Company Resource Center
The Business & Company Resource Center is a comprehensive research tool that meets core curriculum requirements in undergraduate and graduate case study work as well as the business research needs of the job seeker or casual investor. It offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
Coverage Dates: Varies by title -
- Business Economics and Theory
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides periodicals focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, with more than 450 full-text journals to support their research and regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with CEO's.
Coverage Dates: 1980 - present
- S & P NetAdvantage
A collection of 11 Standard & Poor's databases, including Bond Guide, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, The Outlook, Stock Guide, Stock Reports and others.
Full-text and data: Current
Coverage Dates: - present
- Countries and their Culture
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. This 4-vol. set is lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Coverage Dates: - 2001
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present
GREENR (The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Coverage Dates: 1982 - present
- Wall Street Journal
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1986.
Coverage Dates: 1986 - present
- SBRnet (Sport Business Research Network)
SBRnet is an online international sport marketing and business information provider including reports and statistics which focus on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media and directories." 1993 - present
Coverage Dates: 1993 - present