Skip to main content

Guide to OSU Women's History in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Manuscript Collections

Activities of Women Scrapbook, 1909-1930
The Activities of Women Scrapbook consists of programs, brochures, and announcements for women's activities at Oregon State College. The activities include gymnastics demonstrations (Box 01), dance festivals and performances, pageants, stunt shows, banquets, and teas.

Edwin T. Reed Papers, 1886-1948
The Reed Papers consist of notes, publications and speeches, correspondence, photographs, and other materials pertaining to Edwin T. Reed's work as college editor, to OSU history, and to William Jasper Kerr. Box 9, folder 1 contains images of the  Women's Gymnasium (Valley Gymnastics Center).

Record Groups

*Recreational Sports Department Records, 1964-2008
The Recreational Sports Department Records document recreational sports and fitness programs offered at Oregon State University, primarily for students. The records include committee records, sports club files, photographs, videotapes, and audiocassettes. Box 4 contains materials relating to gymnastics.

Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University.  The records include annual review forms, constitutions and by-laws, lists of officers and members, and event registration forms.  The Office of Student Involvement provides support services to student organizations and oversees the process for annual recognition of clubs and organizations. Files on the Gymnastics Club can be found in Box 4.

Women's Center Records, 1970-2015
The Women's Center Records document the Center's educational, research, and advocacy roles at Oregon State University. This collection consists of documentation including: reports and publications, correspondence, committee records, surveys, conference and workshop materials, and subject files. Also included in the collection are scrapbooks, photographs and albums, artifacts, Women's Center publications and posters, and student-authored papers. Box 13 contains photographs of past women's Gymnastics teams
.

Photograph Collections

*John L. Robbins Photographs, 1966-1972
The John L. Robbins Photographs consist of photographs taken by Robbins during his student years at Oregon State University in the late 1960s and early 1970s documenting numerous campus events, student activities, and campus views and scenes. The images depict athletic events; concerts, comedy shows, and theatrical performances; oceanographic research; lectures and speeches by visiting public figures and politicians, including a speech by civil rights activist Julian Bond; campus events; carnival rides at night; classrooms; and campus views.


Fred Deininger Luse Photograph Album, 1908-1910
The Fred Deininger Luse Photograph Album consists of photographic prints, primarily photographic postcards, collected and assembled by Fred D. Luse, that document campus buildings and grounds and student activities during Luse's years at Oregon Agricultural College. An interior view of the old armory (now the Gymnastics Training Center) decorated for the 1908 commencement ceremony is included (Box 01).

Harold Troxel Vedder Photograph Collection, 1913-1916
The Harold Troxel Vedder Photograph Collection consists of images assembled by Vedder during his student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC). The photographs depict campus views and buildings; athletic teams and events, especially football; military training; and student activities. Vedder attended OAC in 1913-1915 as a student of mechanic arts. The collection includes images of what is now the Valley Gymnastics Center (Box 01), and has been digitized and made available online.

M. B. Spillard Photograph Collection, circa 1910-1916
The M.B. Spillard Photograph Collection consists of photographic postcards of Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) buildings and campus views. The collection includes images of what is now the Valley Gymnastics Center (Box 01), and has been digitized and is available online.

Digital Collections

Please note that links listed below are "canned searches" for specific content relating to women and the subject.
Images and publications: Gymnastics in Oregon Digital

Moving images: Gymnastics in MediaSpace
Oral histories: