Skip to main content

Guide to OSU Women's History in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Manuscript Collections

George Edmonston, Jr. Collection, 1907-2011
The George Edmonston, Jr. Collection primarily consists of materials collected and generated by Edmonston over the course of his nineteen years (1986-2005) as editor of the Oregon Stater alumni magazine, during which time he wrote dozens of articles on the history of the university. The collection includes original and reproduced photographs and other primary sources used by Edmonston in his research and writing on OSU and the Willamette Valley. Also included are materials documenting the activities of the Oregon Stater, the OSU Alumni Association and the OSU 30-Staters Clubs both before and during Edmonston's time at OSU, as well as items written by Edmonston for publication outside of the Oregon Stater. Box-folder 01.33 contains a photograph of softball player Parissa Plant.

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present
The Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection containing items of interest about Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon. Access to the Account Book, Missouri Gazette, and the Class of 1917 Minutes (Box 188) and the Commemorative Plates (Box 196) is restricted due to the physical condition of the items. Box-folder 146.1 and Box-folder 177.4 contain softball-related newsclippings and posters; newsclippings about softball coach Kirk Walker can be found in box-folder 161.22. All requests for access to these materials should be directed to the University Archivist.

Oral Histories

OSU Queer Archives Oral History Collection, 2015-2018
The OSU Queer Archives Oral History Collection is a growing repository of interviews and event recordings that document the experiences and perspectives of members of the LGBTQ+ community who have spent at least portions of their lives at Oregon State University and/or in Benton County, Oregon. This collection includes an interview with Mary Renneke, former Oregon State University softball player. All interview videos are available online: LGBTQ Voices.

Digital Collections

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please note that links listed below are "canned searches" for specific content relating to women and the subject.
Digital images and publications: Softball in Oregon Digital
Moving images: Softball in MediaSpace