Skip to main content

Guide to OSU Women's History in the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

Faculty

*Jean Moule Papers, 1975-2011
The Jean Moule Papers document Moule's teaching, research, and writing in the field of multicultural education, especially teacher training. The Papers include publications, course materials, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Moule earned a Ph.D. from Oregon State University in 1998 and was a faculty member in the Oregon State University College of Education from 1998 until her retirement in 2011.

Alice L. Edwards Papers, 1895-1962
The materials in this collection were generated and/or collected by Alice L. Edwards, a 1906 graduate of Oregon Agricultural College. They document her career as a home economist and include materials related to her personal life. The collection contains correspondence, clippings and publications, photographs and artwork, certificates and awards, ephemera, coursework and teaching materials, and two diaries kept by Edwards on a trip to Europe in 1925.

Te May Ching Papers, 1947-1988
The Te May Ching Papers consist of teaching and research records created and assembled by Te May Tsou Ching, professor of seed physiology at Oregon State University from 1956 to 1988. This collection documents Ching's career via correspondence; research materials including project files, laboratory notebooks, specimen photographs, and bibliographic records; teaching materials; administrative and programmatic records from the Crop Science Department; and records from her involvement in various professional activities and organizations.

*Helen Cowgill Papers, 1914-1956
The Cowgill Papers consist of 4-H circulars written by Helen Cowgill, family history information, and a diary of her 4-H work during the 1910s with women and young girls throughout Oregon. Cowgill came to Oregon in 1890 and graduated in 1913 from Oregon Agricultural College with a BS degree in Domestic Science and Art. After teaching Domestic Science and Art at Harney County (Oregon) High School at Burns for one year, she began her career at OAC in 1914 as Assistant State 4-H Club Leader with the Extension Service. In 1916, she earned a second BS degree in Home Economics from OAC.

Helen M. Gilkey Papers, 1910-1974
The Helen M. Gilkey Papers are comprised of materials generated and assembled by Helen Gilkey, an American mycologist, alumnus and professor of the Oregon State College Botany Department, and curator of the OSC Herbarium (1918-1951). The materials include personal and professional correspondence; notes, research materials, and drafts of publications authored by Gilkey; specimen photographs; and scientific illustrations created by Gilkey.

*Clara A. Storvick Papers, 1925-2002
The Clara A. Storvick Papers consist of reprints of journal articles written or co-authored by Storvick, a Professor of Foods and Nutrition, as well as publications, research notes and other materials that she generated and collected. Specializing in the study of the effects of vitamin B6, Storvick served as Director of the Nutrition Research Institute from 1965 to 1972, becoming Professor Emeritus in 1972.

Erlinda Gonzales-Berry Papers, 1943-2010
The Erlinda Gonzales-Berry Papers document the research and publishing of Gonzales-Berry in the fields of Latino literature and culture and immigration from Mexico to the United States and include publications and speeches, awards, photographs, sound recordings, and a videotape. Gonzales-Berry was chair of the Oregon State University Ethnic Studies Department from 1997 until 2007.

*Betty Lynd Thompson Papers, 1916-1980
The Betty Lynd Thompson Papers were created and assembled by Thompson, a dance instructor at Oregon State University from 1927 until her retirement in 1972. The Papers include correspondence; teaching materials and student papers; writings by Thompson on a variety of topics; publications pertaining to dance instruction; dance programs, clippings, and ephemera; photographs; and motion picture films.

*Sharon E. Rosenkoetter Papers, 1996-2011
The Sharon E. Rosenkoetter Papers document Rosenkoetter's research in early childhood development, especially transition planning between settings for children with special needs and leadership development to promote quality services across early childhood agencies and disciplines. Sharon E. Rosenkoetter was an Associate Professor in Human Development and Family Sciences at Oregon State University from 1999 until her retirement in 2010.

Lucy Lewis Scrapbook, 1914-1915
The Lucy Lewis Scrapbook humorously documents a twelve-day hiking excursion taken by Lewis and six companions in 1915 to Mount Jefferson, a peak in Oregon's Cascade Range. The scrapbook contains an extensive narrative, a list of previous climbers successful in summiting Mount Jefferson, a full accounting of provisions, a Santiam National Forest brochure, a small ink and watercolor painting, and more than 100 photographs. In 1911 Lucy Lewis began her career at Oregon Agricultural College as an assistant librarian and, in 1920, was appointed College Librarian. She retired in 1944.

Margaret Wynne Fox Photograph Collection, circa 1985 - 2005
The Margaret Wynne Fox Photograph Collection consists of photographs of Educational Opportunities Program (EOP) students and faculty assembled by Fox. Fox was an Assistant Professor with the Educational Opportunities Program at Oregon State University from 1982 until her retirement in 2007. The images are all available online.

*Mary Jo Nye Papers, 1986-1997
Dr. Mary Jo Nye (b. 1944) is a historian of science widely recognized for her research into scientific discovery as both a catalyst and product of social and political events. Through positions at the University of Oklahoma and Oregon State University, extensive publishing, and participation in the international community of historians of science, Dr. Nye has drawn recognition from prestigious organizations including the History of Science Society and the American Chemical Society. The Mary Jo Nye Papers include books relating to the history of science, reprints, manuscript notes, and miscellaneous documents.

Ava Milam Clark Papers, 1856-1972
The Ava Milam Clark Papers document Clark's career in the field of home economics, her role as Dean of Home Economics at Oregon State College from 1917 to 1950, and her international activities as a consultant to home economics programs in China, Japan, Korea, Iraq, and Syria.

*Maud Wilson Papers, 1926-1951
The Maud Wilson Papers consist of publications detailing her research as a Professor of Home Economics at Oregon Agricultural College.

Elizabeth Henley Papers, 1918-2000
The Elizabeth Henley Papers document the life and work of Elizabeth Henley, a Pacific Northwest poet and member of the Oregon State University faculty from 1959 to 1975. The collection is comprised of research materials; manuscript and audio-recorded drafts of Henley's work; published and pre-publication poetry; and personal materials including photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and yearbooks.

Faculty and Staff Photograph Collection, 1896-1979
The Faculty and Staff Photograph Collection consists primarily of individual portraits and group photographs of faculty and staff employed by Oregon State University.

*Dean of Faculty Records, 1962-1988
The Dean of Faculty Records document the activities of the Dean of Faculty regarding faculty appointments and promotions including tenure and salaries. The Dean of Faculty was established in 1964 to serve as the principal academic officer of Oregon State University reporting to the President. David Nicodemus was Dean of Faculty from 1966 until 1986, when the Office of the Provost was established. Access to the Jeanne Dost vs. OSU case file in Series 4 and the President Jensen materials on microfilm reel 2 is restricted due to the presence of confidential information. All requests for access to this material should be directed to the University Archivist. Digitized copies of unrestricted materials on reel 2 are available in the SCARC reading room upon request.

Oregon State University Extension Service Faculty and Staff Oral History Collection, 2007-2009
The Oregon State University Extension Service Faculty and Staff Oral History Collection consists of digital recordings of oral history interviews with retired and emeritus Extension Service faculty and staff, transcripts, photographs, and related documentation. These oral histories document the programs and activities of the Extension Service in Oregon from the 1940s through the 1990s. The full contents of the collection have been digitized and made available online.

Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present
The Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection containing items of interest about Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon. Access to the Account Book, Missouri Gazette, and the Class of 1917 Minutes (Box 188) and the Commemorative Plates (Box 196) is restricted due to the physical condition of the items. All requests for access to these materials should be directed to the University Archivist.

Oregon State University Sesquicentennial Oral History Collection, 2013-2017
The Oregon State University Sesquicentennial Oral History Collection documents the history, culture and ambition of Oregon State University through interviews with alumni, faculty, staff, administrators, current students and supporters. Most of the items held in the collection take the form of life history interviews, their sole common thread being a given interviewee's association, past or present, with Oregon State University. A total of 243 interviews were conducted for the project, summing to more than 350 hours of recording time. The contents of this collection are available online through a dedicated web portal.

Illustrated Booklets, 1911-1930
The Illustrated Booklets were published by Oregon Agricultural College during the 1910s and 1920s to promote and publicize the College to potential students and Oregon residents.   The booklets include numerous photographs of the campus in Corvallis as well as students in laboratories and classrooms and participating in student activities.   Edwin T. Reed edited and wrote many of the booklets.  This collection consists of 29 booklets, all of which are available online and searchable in Oregon Digital.

Students

Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University.  The records include annual review forms, constitutions and by-laws, lists of officers and members, and event registration forms.  The Office of Student Involvement provides support services to student organizations and oversees the process for annual recognition of clubs and organizations.

Bernice Forest Diary, 1916-1917
The Bernice Forest Diary includes entries from October 12, 1916 through September 21, 1917 and provides information about her life as an OAC student and her family and friends. It includes entries during the school year from Cauthorn Hall, during vacations from her family home, and during the summer of 1917 from Waldo Hall and her family home. Topics include activities with her friends and sisters and life in her family's rural home near Eugene, Oregon.

*Jacquelin F. Holland Papers, 1945-1951
The Jacquelin F. Holland Papers consist of a scrapbook, an academic portfolio, photographs, and ephemera created and assembled by Holland as a student at Oregon State College. Holland graduated with a BS in Secretarial Science in 1951.

A. Isabella Downs Scrapbook, 1910-1916
The A. Isabella Downs Scrapbook was assembled by Downs during her student years at Oregon Agricultural College and documents student life and the college environment during the mid-1910s. Downs attended Oregon Agricultural College from 1913 to 1916, when she completed a BS degree in Pharmacy.

Lora Lemon Scrapbook, 1896-1961
The Lora Lemon Scrapbook consists of photographs, clippings, and ephemera assembled by Lemon documenting the student years of herself and her husband, E.B. Lemon, at Oregon Agricultural College in the early 1900s, as well as their continued involvement in the Oregon State College community through the 1950s. Lora Lemon graduated from OAC in 1908; E.B. Lemon graduated in 1911 and was a faculty member and administrator at Oregon State from 1911 until his retirement in 1959.

Helen E. Plinkiewisch Papers, 1888-1995
The Plinkiewisch Papers document the education, music teaching career, and related activities of music educator Helen E. Plinkiewisch and include diaries and journals, teaching records, musical compositions, a sound recording, and photographs. Plinkiewisch graduated from Oregon State Agricultural College in 1929 and had a long and successful career as a music educator in the public schools of Garden City (Long Island), New York.

Beverly J. Leach Papers, 1918-1949
The Beverly J. Leach Papers document Leach's experience as a student at Oregon State College in the 1940s and include a scrapbook and correspondence. Beverly J. Leach attended Oregon State in 1943-1945, served in the Navy from 1945 to 1947, and returned to Oregon State in 1947. She graduated in 1948 with a BS in General Science.

Leslie Miller Scrapbook, circa 1916-1948
The Leslie Miller Scrapbook consists of clippings, memorabilia, and photographs of Miller's student years at Oregon Agricultural College. Miller was a student in agriculture from 1916 to 1919.

Amy Cyrus Sewing Book and Photographs, 1907-1926
Amy Cyrus was a household science student and nurse at Oregon Agricultural College. This collection consists of her sewing sample book and photographs.

Doris P. Adamson Scrapbook, 1939-1942
The Doris P. Adamson Scrapbook was assembled by Adamson and reflects her student experience at Oregon State College. Doris Adamson attended Oregon State College in 1939-1943 as a student in secretarial science.

Mary Louise Armstrong Collection, 1936-1954
The Mary Louise Armstrong Collection consists of photographs and newspaper clippings documenting Armstrong's student years at Oregon State College and her work as a Regional Home Economist for the Live Stock and Meat Board in the 1940s. Armstrong earned a BS in home economics from Oregon State in 1943.

*Ivy G. Burton Collection, 1899-1951
The Ivy G. Burton collection contains materials generated and collected by Burton during her years as an OAC student at the turn of the century.

Co-Signers Engineer Students' Wives' Club Collection, 1958-1978
The Co-Signers Engineering Students’ Wives’ Club Collection documents the creation and activities of the group throughout its existence, and includes minutes, organizational records, scrapbooks, and photographs. The club was established to encourage friendships and social engagement among wives of engineering students at Oregon State University.

*Dona Dinsdale Papers, 1943-2013
The Dona Dinsdale Papers consist of materials created and assembled by Dinsdale during her student years at Oregon State College, during and immediately following World War II. The collection consists predomininantly of course materials and also includes letters written by Dinsdale to her parents. Dona Dinsdale enrolled at Oregon State College in 1943 and earned a BS in Secretarial Science in 1947.

Iona Irving Ferguson Collection, 1893-1950
The Iona Irving Ferguson Collection consists of ephemera assembled by Iona Margaret Irving, primarily during her student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC). Irving graduated from OAC in 1915 with a BS in Home Economics and married Oscar Ferguson, a 1916 OAC graduate, in 1917.

Wanda F. Hardin Fruits Memoir, 2007
 The Wanda F. Hardin Fruits Memoir, Living the Dream, describes Wanda Fae Hardin Fruits' years as a student at Corvallis High School and Oregon State College in the 1940s. Fruits also writes about her experiences as a fire lookout near Roseburg, Oregon.

Vera Garrison Collection, 1935-1939
The Vera Garrison Collection consists of student memorabilia assembled by Vera Garrison and John Olsen during their student years at Oregon State College in 1935-1939. The collection reflects their membership in the Delta Zeta sorority and Sigma Phi Sigma fraternity and attendance and participation in dances, concerts and performances, and athletic events.

Ruby Stafrin Irwin Scrapbook, 1923-1927
The Ruby Stafrin Irwin Scrapbook was assembled by alumna Ruby Stafrin and contains materials related to her and her sister Mildred's experiences as students at Oregon Agricultural College. Ruby was a student in pharmacy from 1923 to 1926.

Ruth H. Kennedy Scrapbook, 1915-1965
The Ruth H. Kennedy Scrapbook was assembled by Kennedy to document her student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) in 1915-1920. Kennedy graduated from OAC in 1920 with a BS in Home Economics.

Helen Lepper Diary, 1928-1931
The Helen Lepper Diary documents the daily activities of Lepper during her student years at Oregon State College. Helen Marie Lepper attended Oregon State from 1927 until 1930 and studied music.

*Phyllis Pendell Collection, 1877-1966
The Phyllis Pendell Collection consists of materials generated and collected by Oregon State College alumna Phyllis Pendell and her family. The materials document her public schooling in Portland (Oregon) in the 1930s and her experiences as a student at Oregon State College in the early 1940s. The Collection consists predominantly of photographs of Pendell's family, primarily her mother's family (the Vernons). Many of the photographs were made in Oroville and San Francisco, California and in Idaho.

Spike Sisters Scrapbooks, 1919-1936
The Spike Sisters Scrapbooks were assembled by three sisters during their student years at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) in the 1920s and 1930s and include photographs, clippings, ephemera, and publications. Eleanor May and Frances Miriam Spike graduated from OAC in 1925 with degrees in home economics; Mary Marcella Spike attended OAC in 1931-1934, studying pharmacy.

Effie L. Wagner Scrapbook of the Women's Debate Tour, 1928
The Effie L. Wagner Scrapbook documents the 1928 Women's Debate Tour of several colleges and universities in the western United States. Three members of the Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) varsity women's debate squad (Effie Wagner, Dorothy E. Williams, and Helen B. Woodward) travelled to five campuses over a three-week period. Effie L. Wagner, graduated from OAC in 1928 with a degree in vocational education; she was manager of the women's debate squad.

Jayne Walters Scrapbook, 1934-1940
The Jayne Walters Scrapbook consists of materials assembled by Walters during her student years at Oregon State College and includes clippings, ephemera, correspondence, publications, and photographs. Walters graduated from Oregon State College in 1940 and was an editor of several student publications.