- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
Dean of Women's Office Photographs, 1941-1961
The Dean of Women's Office Photographs consists of group photographs of the participants in the conference for housemothers, hostesses, and head residents at Oregon State in the summers of 1941, 1951 (2 prints), and 1961. All of the images are b/w prints; the 1951 and 1961 images include the participants' names. The 1951 photographs were made by Hise Studio in Corvallis, Oregon.
President's Commission on the Status of Women Records, 1972-2010
These records were generated and collected by the President's Commission on the Status of Women and document the activities of the commission in its research and advisory role.
*President's Office Records, 1903-2002
The President's Office Records reflect the administration of the university and include documentation of policy formulation, publication of statistical information, and review of legal issues. Separate finding aids have been prepared for Subgroup 1 (B.L. Arnold), Subgroup 2 (John D. Letcher), Subgroup 3 (John M. Bloss), Subgroup 4 (H.B. Miller), and Subgroup 5 (Thomas Gatch). Microfilm reel 157 includes an interesting file entitled "Women's Attitudes" (Reel 157.256). Sub-group 13, Box 17 contains a file relating to the "Status of Women" at the University in the mid-1960s; Box 22 contains materials relating to the "Faculty Status of Women." Access to personnel reviews in Subgroup 13 Series 1 and department reviews in Series 5 are restricted due to the presence of confidential information. All requests for access to this material should be directed to the University Archivist.
President's Office Photographs, 1923-1998
The President's Office Photographs consist of photographs documenting the activities of the presidents of Oregon State University, primarily from 1960 through 1995, as well as individual portrait photographs of Oregon State faculty and staff from the 1930s through 1960s. Images from the collection are available online in the Best of the Archives digital collection. Series 1, Faculty and Staff, contains many images of female staff and faculty at Oregon State from the mid-1930s to the mid-1990s (Boxes 01 and 02).
Affirmative Action Office Records, 1971-2010
The Affirmative Action Office Records document the development and implementation of affirmative action and equal employment opportunity programs at Oregon State University, especially with regard to women, ethnic minorities, individuals with disabilities, and veterans. The records include subject files, affirmative action plans, policies and procedures, reports, and publications. The Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity was established at Oregon State University in 1972. Boxes 02, 03, 05, 06, 08, and 09 contains files relating specifically to women and their experiences on campus. Access to the Department of Education Office of Civil Rights materials in Series 1 is restricted due to the presence of confidential information. All requests for access to this material should be directed to the University Archivist.
Association of Office Professionals Records, 1961-2008
The Association of Office Professionals (AOP) Records document the membership and programs of the organization for office personnel at Oregon State University. The records include constitutions and bylaws, membership lists, newsletters and publications, board records, and scrapbooks. The Association of Office Professionals was established in 1961 as the Oregon State University chapter of the Oregon Association of Educational Secretaries. In 1977, the chapter became the Office Personnel Association (OPA) and, in 2004, the name was changed to Association of Office Professionals.
Disability Access Services Records, 1973-2016
The Disability Access Services Records focus on programs and services provided by the former Services for Students with Disabilities office at Oregon State University, as well as the student organizations, Handicapped Students Unlimited and the Disabled Students Organization. The Disability Access Services Office began as Handicapped Services, located in the Counseling Center, during the late 1970s. In the early 1980s, Handicapped Services became the office of Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD). The office would later be renamed as the Disability Access Services office.
*Educational Opportunities Program Records, 1983-1999
The Educational Opportunities Program (EOP) Records document the administration and activities of the College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) at Oregon State University, a federally funded program for students of migrant or seasonal farmworkers, and other EOP programs that support non-traditional students.
*Dean of Faculty Records, 1962-1988
The Dean of Faculty Records document the activities of the Dean of Faculty regarding faculty appointments and promotions including tenure and salaries. The Dean of Faculty was established in 1964 to serve as the principal academic officer of Oregon State University reporting to the President. David Nicodemus was Dean of Faculty from 1966 until 1986, when the Office of the Provost was established. Box 02 contains a file for the Ad Hoc Committee on Higher Education for Mature. WomenAccess to the Jeanne Dost vs. OSU case file in Series 4 and the President Jensen materials on microfilm reel 2 is restricted due to the presence of confidential information. All requests for access to this material should be directed to the University Archivist.
*Faculty Senate Records, 1944-2012
The Faculty Senate records document the development, administration and activities of the OSU Faculty Senate and its various committees. Of particular interest are files relating to the work of the Faculty Economic Welfare committee (Box 2), and subject files relating to Promotion and Tenure in Box 04.
Administrative Council Records, 1869-1973
The Administrative Council Records consist of minutes of the Oregon State University Administrative Council and the College Council as well as minutes of the faculty, prior to establishment of the Councils in 1908. The records also include the Register of Students and Student Grades for the first enrollees at Corvallis College in 1869-1871. The Administrative Council Records consists primarily of minutes of Administrative Council from its establishment in 1908 through 1973; minutes of the College Council from 1908 until the early 1920s; and faculty minutes from 1873 through 1913. The minutes document administrative and academic policies; faculty organization and governance; and student activities including disciplinary actions taken by the faculty and academic appeals by students. The records also include policies, memoranda, agendas, and correspondence.
Office of Admissions Records, 1961-2009
The Office of Admissions Records document the recruitment and orientation of new students, primarily undergraduates, to Oregon State University. The records include reports, admissions and applications data, correspondence, publications, committee records, and records for recruitment and orientation events and programs. In addition to policies and procedures for admission to Oregon State University, the records address retention, residence classification for determining in-state or out-of-state tuition, and long-range planning.
Board of Trustees Records, 1868-1891
The Board of Trustees Records document the early years of Corvallis College (now known as Oregon State University) and contain meeting minutes, financial records, and a resolution and circular.
*Board of Regents Records, 1886-1929
The Board of Regents Records document the administration, facilities, and curriculum of the Oregon Agricultural College and include correspondence, minutes, financial records, and contracts.
Office of New Student Programs Records, 1943-1980
The Office of New Student Programs Records document the coordination of annual orientation events and tours for prospective students and incoming freshmen to OSU. The collection includes brochures, correspondence, meeting minutes, posters, reports, and a sound recording. Series 2 contains correspondence relating to the recruitment of minority and women students (Box-folder 1.2).
*Academic Affairs Records, 1942-2012
The Academic Affairs Records consist, in the main, of materials documenting curriculum coordination and development as well as awards, reviews of academic programs, materials from the Curriculum Council, and announcements.
*Jo Anne J. Trow Papers, 1952-2014
The Jo Anne J. Trow Papers consist of materials generated and collected by Trow that document her career as an administrator at Oregon State University as well as her involvement in community and professional organizations. Trow came to Oregon State in 1965 to serve as Dean of Women. She retired in 1995 after serving as Vice President for Student Affairs for more than 20 years.
Ava Milam Clark Papers, 1856-1972
The Ava Milam Clark Papers document Clark's career in the field of home economics, her role as Dean of Home Economics at Oregon State College from 1917 to 1950, and her international activities as a consultant to home economics programs in China, Japan, Korea, Iraq, and Syria.
Buena Maris Mockmore Papers, 1916-1969
The Buena Maris Mockmore Papers consist of materials created and assembled by Buena Margason Maris Mockmore Steinmetz documenting her life and work, especially at Oregon State College and Iowa State University. She earned a M.S. degree in Home Economics at Oregon State College in 1939 and taught family relations and child family life at Oregon State until 1941, when she became Dean of Women, a position she held until 1948.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501