Skip to main content

Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives: OTHER RESOURCES

This guide provides a list of archival collections related to hops and brewing history, as well as tips and resources for doing research.

Where to find more?

This page will continue to evolve as we make new discoveries, but here are some of our favorite research resource finds. 

Content databases

Historic Oregon Newspapers: http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/

State Library of Oregon Digital Collections: https://digital.osl.state.or.us/

HathiTrust: https://www.hathitrust.org/​

  • HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Google Books: https://books.google.com/​

  • Google Books is a service from Google that searches the full text of books and magazines Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database.

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/​ 

  • Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 286 billion archived web pages.

Digital Public Library: https://dp.la/

  • The DPLA brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Collection databases

These databases include guides to archival collections and other digitized materials. 

Other repositories and organizations with related content

Oregon Wine History Archive, housed in the Linfield College Archives, is a great resource for state wine history research. It was founded at Linfield College in 2011 with a mission to collect and preserve all aspects, stories and regions of the Oregon wine industry. They have a lot digitized content, as well as a robust oral history collection. 

Look to the Cornell University library for excellent guides to researching wine and beer

  • Note these guides are helpful for current industry research projects.
  • You can also find out more about their historical resources by doing a keyword search for “beer” or “wine” on the Special Collections site at https://rare.library.cornell.edu/.

UC Davis Is a university with strong research programs in fermentation and food science, and their library and archival collections reflect their focus on wine and wine-making. Their Viticulture and Enology Subject Guide also includes collections with materials related to brewing (e.g. Beer and Brewing Ephemera Collection, Michael Lewis Papers). 

The Oregon State Archives has resources for people looking for state records related to legislation, regulation, and business operation. Of particular note are records for the post-Prohibition establishment of the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, legislative records and testimony on laws such as Brewpub bill, and a state business records database. You can find a list of all their guides, records, and indexes online

The State Library of Oregon State Library has books and state publications. You can find a link to their library catalog, digital collections, and photograph collections online

Historical societies and heritage museums often have valuable collections for research; however, because not all have the funds and staff to make their collections described and locatable online it's best to visit their website and contact their staff before making a visit. They might be able to point you to online resources or suggest collections in advance you didn’t know were housed there.  

Collections in the UK

The National Brewing Library is an English language collection relating to brewing, distilling, other alcoholic beverages and dependent trades. The collection aims to be the primary and most comprehensive source of information in the UK, on the scientific, technological, historical and social aspects of the above.

In 2008 the personal library, published books and research papers of Michael Jackson "The Beer Hunter" were gifted to Oxford Brookes Library and named "The Michael Jackson Collection."   

  • Also related is the Michael Jackson Beer Hunter site. Jackson, who died 2007, was recognized as one of the best-known beer writers in the world. This site is a tribute and an archive of his writings. 

The Brewery History Online site, which has issues of a journal published by The Brewery History Society. This is an organization that has deposited books and journals at the National Brewing Library.

The Scottish Brewing Archive Association is an independent body run by industry experts and brewing enthusiasts. Since 1991 it's archival collections have been housed in the Glasgow University Archives and Business Records Centre. SBAA is part of the Scottish Business Archives. You can find a list of collections online