- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
The tables of contents for publications in the Brewing and Fermentation Research and Olympia Brewery Library collections. Some files for individual publications were too large for this site and were split into multiple files.
A COMBINED LIST OF ALL TABLES OF CONTENTS CAN BE VIEWED IN BOX.
NEWS CLIPPINGS
NEWSLETTERS
NEWSPAPERS
There are periodicals and journals housed in various archival collections, the main source being the Brewing and Fermentation Research and Olympia Brewery Library collections. There are also publications in the main OSU Library collection.
All About Beer
Beer news, feature articles, collectibles, homebrewing, history, international beer culture, food and beer, book reviews, and beer ratings.
American Brewer
Topics focus on the "business of beer," including emerging trends and analysis written by experienced journalists.
American Breweriana
Focus on history, collectables, and beer advertising.
American Society of Brewing Chemists Proceedings
An international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes scientific research articles on brewing and distilling science.
Anti-saloon League Year Book
Produced by Ernest Hurst Cherrington and the Anti-saloon League of America to be "An encyclopedia of facts and figures dealing with the liquor traffic and the temperance reform."
Brewer and Distiller International
Published by the Institute of Brewing & Distilling (IBD) with a focus on industry news and analysis, technical articles, management strategies, and international topics.
Beer Can Collectors News Report
Published by Beer Can Collectors of America with a focus on beer memorabilia.
Beer Cans and Brewery Collectibles
Published by Brewery Collectibles Club of America with a focus on beer memorabilia.
Beer Northwest/Beer West Magazine
Started as a Northwest beer culture and lifestyle magazine; in January 2011, the magazine expanded into California and became Beer West. Design concepts, innovative stories, and beer lifestyle content. Targeted to beer and food enthusiasts, and marketed as a "celebration of the unique Western beer-loving life."
Beverage World
Analysis, information, and articles on a variety of beverages.
Brauwelt (English edition)
Professional journal for brewing and beverage industry personnel.
Brewers Almanac
The Brewers Almanac provides a range of statistical information, including production, taxes, consumption, agricultural statistics, imports, exports, financial statistics, employment, and draft/package trends.
Digitized issues from 1944-1998 are available in Box.
Brewers' Digest
Focuses on technical advancements in brewing techniques, buyers guides, and other practical aspects of the beer industry.
Brewer's Digest
Marketed to commercial brewers, this journal includes abstracts for new publications, news from the U.S. and abroad, education, statistics, event information, economic and legislative updates, photographs, and advertisements. It was published by Siebel Publication Company in Chicago and was also known as Brewers Technical Review and Siebel Technical Review.
Brewers' Guardian
International brewing industry magazine focused on the business of brewing, including corporate strategy, brewing, packaging, regulations, environmental and social responsibility, and brands and marketing. Brewers' Guardian was first published in 1871 as a continuation of the Country Brewer's Gazette, and covered stories such as the work of Louis Pasteur.
Brewing Techniques
Technical brewing magazine for the advanced homebrewer and commercial brewer. Articles are written by a wide range of authors and on a wide variety of topics such as adjuncts, lab methods, education and training, judging, and hops.
Brygmestern: The Scandinavian Brewers’ Review (in Danish)
Includes research abstracts, advertising, book reviews, and other industry insights.
Celebrator Beer News
Newspaper about U.S. craft brewing, with articles on festivals, food, people, book reviews, and brewery openings and closures.
The Hop Press: A Memorandum of What's Brewin'
The Hopper
Journal of the American Society of Brewing Chemists
An international, peer-reviewed journal that publishes scientific research and articles on the sciences behind brewing and distilling. Also includes analysis on the different techniques from business malting, brewing, and distilling. Same as a American Society of Brewing Chemists issues from 1940-1974.
Journal of the American Society of Brewing Chemists
Published by the American Society of Brewing Chemists, this journal publishes scientific papers, review articles, and technical reports dealing with the chemistry and microbiology of brewing ingredients and relevant technology, as well as the analytical techniques used in the malting and brewing industry.
See also Proceedings. Annual meeting - American Society of Brewing Chemists
Journal of the Federated Institutes of Brewing
British journal that contains original research articles, as well as abstracts from articles published in other journals.
Journal of the Institute of Brewing
Focuses on the scientific studies behind the brewing and distilling industries; largely academic papers with research conducted at universities, institutes, and international laboratories.
Journal of the Institute of Brewing
Scientific papers relating to the brewing and fermentation industries; drawn from universities, research institutes and industrial laboratories.
See also Malting, brewing and allied processes: a literature survey prepared for the Institute of Brewing.
Malt Advocate
Used to focus more on beer; publication is now called Whisky Advocate and most of the issues are on whisky-related topics.
MBAA Technical Quarterly
Published by the Master Brewers Association of the Americas. Features both peer-reviewed and non-reviewed articles on the technical aspects of ingredients, products, and methods.
Modern Brewery Age
Published as a trade journal for the U.S. beer industry, included research articles, brewery and personal news, and events.
New Brewer
Published by the Brewers Association and established in 1983 to help early craft breweries with practical insight, industry news, brewing technologies, pub and restaurant management, and packaged beer sales and distribution. The annual "Industry Review" issue (May/June) tallies production for every craft brewery in America.
Northwest Brewing News
Craft beer and brewing news from the Northwest, including feature columns, tasting panels, seasonal releases, and information for homebrewers.
Issues dating 2010-present are available on the Brewing News site. Also included are editions from New England, Mid-Atlantic, Great Lakes, Rocky Mountains, Southwest, and Southern regions.
Oregon/Pacific Hop Grower
Oregon Beer Growler
Newspaper focused on a wide-variety of topics, including brewery news, politics, people, history, homebrewing, food, tasting, and events.
The Year Book of the United States Brewers' Association
Published by the United States Brewers' Association. Includes supplemental research materials; tables and statistics for taxation of malt liquors, hops, barley, and rice; and officers, members, and breweries from each state. 1911 through 1916 yearbooks include proceedings of the 51st through 56th annual conventions, and 1909 edition includes a "Historical Sketch of United States Brewers' Association."
Wallerstein Laboratories: scientific institution that studies the science and practice of brewing.
Western Brewer
Includes articles and pictures of people, companies, plants, and other related industry information, as well as advertisements for equipment, supplies, and statistics. This journal was also called Beverage Journal (during Prohibition) and Brewers Journal.
Zymurgy
Published by the American Homebrewers Association with a focus on events, recipes, ingredients, books, suppliers, and statistics.
How can you use this list? These are the most consulted books in our collections. Beneath each title, you’ll find a description of the material, as well as frequent research topics associated with the book. Use this list as an inspiration rather than a prescription.
Ambitious Brew by Maureen Ogle
Ogle brings an analytical and historical approach to the American beer narrative, structuring the story around the histories of prominent brewers and beer enthusiasts. The book offers a good general history from the westward expansion of the mid-nineteenth century to the craft brewing craze at the turn of the twentieth. Extensive notes, bibliography, and index included.
American Breweries by Donald Bull, Manfred Friedrich, and Robert Gottschalk and The register of United States breweries, 1876-1976: an alphabetical index by Manfred Friedrich and Donald Bull
These books include information about the name of the brewery, dates of operation, city, owner, and production. We've used this for research pertaining to: history of American brewing and the American beer industry.
The Audacity of Hops by Tom Acitelli
The Audacity of Hops follows the explosion of the American craft brew movement since the 1970s, built upon information gathered from interviews and archives. Acitelli notably covers multiple industry facets, including brewing, marketing, and public perception. Acitelli also addresses the impact of similar cultural trends, such as the Slow Food Movement.
Beer Lover's Oregon, by Globe Peqout and Logan Thompson
"The Beer Lover's series features regional breweries, brewpubs and beer bars for those looking to seek out and celebrate the best brews--from bitter seasonal IPAs to rich, dark stouts--their cities have to offer. With quality beer producers popping up all over the nation, you don't have to travel very far to taste great beer; some of the best stuff is brewing right in your home state. These comprehensive guides cover the entire beer experience for the proud, local enthusiast and the traveling visitor alike, including information on: - brewery and beer profiles with tasting notes- brewpubs and beer bars- events and festivals- food and brew-your-own beer recipes- city trip itineraries with bar crawl maps- regional food and beer pairings."
Bend Beer by Jon Abernathy
Abernathy traces the trajectory of Central Oregon’s beer history in his book, Bend Beer. In addition to including historical and production information for many Central Oregon breweries, the book contains a fascinating economic narrative of the region. Abernathy tracks Bend’s progress from a small homesteading community in the early twentieth century to a destination town with one of the highest number of breweries per capita in the nation.
Brewed in America by Stanley Baron
Published in 1962, this book focuses on the lasting popularity of beer and homebrewing throughout American history. Baron traces American beer’s roots back to the colonies, gradually following its trajectory across the growing nation and offering industry and brewing information along the way. Baron’s work is notable for its focus on early brewing practices, from the seventeenth century to Prohibition, as well as its lengthy reference list, bibliography, and index. We've used this for research pertaining to: pre-Prohibition, beer styles, and the development of brewing along the Pacific Coast.
Brewed in the Pacific Northwest by Gary and Gloria Meier
Without extensive citations or notes, this book offers an excellent introduction to the general history and production trends of brewing in Oregon and Washington. The Meiers cover important pre-Prohibition brewers and the steps they took to try to survive Prohibition. Brewed in the Pacific Northwest also includes homebrewing information, rare historical photos, and industry-related promotional materials.
Craft beers of the Pacific Northwest: a beer lover's guide to Oregon, Washington, and British Columbia, By Lisa Morrison
Beer expert Lisa Morrison leads readers through each region with 115 key breweries and brew pubs in Oregon, Washington, and British Columbia. This book includes profiles of both craft beer pioneers and the brewers that followed.
Dictionary of the History of the American Brewing and Distilling Industries by William L. Downard
A reference work that historians interested in brewing, distilling, and federal regulation of those industries will want to consult. Professor William Downard has compiled useful information and ar- ranged it alphabetically by firm, person, and subject. The reader can easily locate subjects as diverse as the 1855 "beer riot" in Chicago and "the worm" (a device for cooling alcohol vapors when distilled). The author included citations of the major persons, organizations, and statutes pertaining to federal regulation and the prohibition movement.
Hops: Historic Photographs of the Oregon Hopscape, by Kenneth I. Helphand
For much of the first half of the twentieth century, Oregon was the leading producer of hops in the United States, with the Willamette Valley deemed “the garden spot of the world for the cultivation of hops.” The author has scoured archives across the state to gather together images of the hops landscape in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The photographs featured in Hops portray pickers of all backgrounds through different eras of agricultural practice. Here are children, nuns, families, immigrants, and college students in fields, hop driers, and tent camps. The photos range from the candid to the highly professional, including images from Dorothea Lange’s iconic Farm Security Administration work.
Hoptopia: A World of Agriculture and Beer in Oregon's Willamette Valley by Dr. Peter Kopp
Through the story of the hop, Hoptopia connects 21st century beer drinkers to lands and histories forgotten in an era of industrial food production. The craft beer revolution of the late 20th century is a remarkable global history that converged in the agricultural landscapes of Oregon’s Willamette Valley. The common hop, a plant native to Eurasia, arrived to the Pacific Northwest only in the 19th century, but it thrived in the region’s environmental conditions. By the first half of the 20th century the Willamette Valley claimed the title “Hop Center of the World.” Hoptopia integrates an interdisciplinary history of environment, culture, economy, labor, and science through the story of the most indispensable ingredient in beer.
Oregon Brew Tour: Craft Beers, Microbrews, Nanobrews, Festivals, and Homebrew Info, by Debra and Bob Ledford.
Oregon Brew Tour details the history, buildings, festivals, and people in the Oregon beer community. It covers the entire state: from Astoria to Joseph, Portland to Ashland, along the Coast or the Columbia, and over the Cascades.
Oregon Breweries by Brian Yaeger
Yaeger’s book offers brief histories, beer lists, and engaging vignettes from nearly 200 breweries across Oregon. Written almost like a guidebook, Oregon Breweries is easy to digest and browse for information. Personal interviews and visits make Yaeger’s book an important addition to the ‘Beervana’ narrative.
Portland Beer by Pete Dunlop
Dunlop uses interviews and archival materials to follow the rise of ‘Beervana’ in Portland. Although the book is best used for post-Prohibition research, it also includes some historical information about the city’s popular frontier saloon culture. Of particular note are Dunlop’s sections pertaining to the Brewpub Bill and the influence of local, beer-centric events like the Oregon Brewers Festival.
Portland Beer Stories by Steven Shomler
Shomler lends his voice to more than 40 individuals involved in Portland’s craft brew industry. Learn about the beer scene and its contemporary history from the brewers, distributors, pub owners, and growers living in its midst. Easily digested, Portland Beer Stories offers an entertaining way to discover little-told stories and introduce oneself to the craft beer movement.
Southern Oregon beer: a pioneering history by Phil Busse
The origin of brewing in southern Oregon is a lively tale of mid-nineteenth-century gold rushes, brawling German immigrants, irrepressible women and hometown pride. In the boomtown of Jacksonville, two pioneering brewers competed to quench the thirst of miners and ranchers, and soon breweries began popping up elsewhere. But as railroads spread across the West, they brought rival beer brands with them, and the onset of Prohibition stifled the industry altogether. Yet resourceful Oregonians continued to cultivate hops, and by the turn of the twenty-first century, small-town brewers like Caldera Brewing Company in Ashland and Climate City Brewery in Grants Pass were once again stepping into the spotlight.
Tinged with Gold: Hop Culture in the United States by Michael A. Tomlan
Tomlan studies structures related to rural hop farming, examining them in specific socioeconomic and historical contexts. These structures are used as foundations for creating a national narrative of hop farming, one which explores the cultivation and harvesting of the crop. Tinged with Gold offers excellent background on the hop industry, as well as the incredible technological advances that have changed the way farms operate. We've used this book to research hop cultivation and distribution, rural farming in the 18th/19th centuries, and the history of hop growth and use in America.
The Widmer Way: How Two Brothers Led Portland’s Craft Beer Revolution by Jeff Alworth
The Widmer Way chronicles Kurt and Rob Widmer’s journey from homebrewers to craft beer pioneers. Drawing from hours of interviews with Kurt and Rob, close family and friends, and colleagues in the beer industry, The Widmer Way looks into the Widmer brothers’ lives and their impact on craft brewing in Portland and beyond. Alworth explores the Widmer family’s beer history, the brothers’ German influence, the brewery’s distribution deal with Anheuser-Busch, and the formation of the Craft Brew Alliance, one of the largest craft brewing companies in the United States. Alworth also dives deep into Portland’s history, setting the scene for Widmer’s rise in the city now known for its exquisite beer.
For further useful reading, browse the book lists of these collections:
For other historic books, do a search on the Hathi Trust and Google Books!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
