Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives: DIGITAL CONTENT

This guide provides a list of archival collections related to hops and brewing history, as well as tips and resources for doing research.

How to find digital and digitized collections

We do a lot of work to digitize collections and provide online access. This page will offer tips on searching, as well as a description of the types of materials you'll find on difference sites (Oregon Digital, Scholars Archives, OSU Media Space, Flickr). 

  • Tips for searching/finding? You can start by doing a keyword search for "hops" or "brewing" or "malt" or "barley" or "history." Then combine them in different ways into more complex searches.  
  • To get to older research start by searching by these names: 
    • Alfred Haunold
    • Gail Nickerson
    • Stanley Brooks
    • Godfrey Hoerner
    • Chester Horner
    • Sam Likens
    • Warren Kronstad
    • William Foote
    • E.N. Hoffman
  • Limit the search and look for a specific college, program, or department. For example:
    • Oregon State University Extension Service
    • Oregon State College. Agricultural Experiment Station
    • Oregon State University. Agricultural Experiment Station
    • United States. Agricultural Research Service
  • Limit the search and look for specific subjects. For example: 
    • Hops
    • Agriculture -- Oregon -- Statistics 
    • Farm produce -- Oregon -- Statistics 
    • Barley -- Genetics
    • Grain -- Varieties -- Oregon -- Statistics 
    • Beer -- Flavor and odor -- Analysis
  • Use keywords like hops, lupulin
  • Limit by dates to narrow and focus the results. 

Online documents

Oregon Digital also has documents and publications.

Go directly to OHBA created content!

Scholars Archive

ScholarsArchive@OSU is Oregon State University’s digital repository for research, scholarship, and historical records. OSU Libraries is responsible for collecting, maintaining, preserving, and providing access to the items. You'll find theses, dissertations, OSU and Extension Services publications, and research reports here.

Oregon Explorer

What will you find here? OE is a natural resources digital library that integrates and provides access to data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists and citizens to support informed decisions and actions by people concerned with natural resources, agriculture, environment, and communities in Oregon and the West. Of special note are the Farming and Agriculture and Century Farm and Ranch topic pages. 

Online photographs

There are two main ways to access online images: through Oregon Digital and Flickr.

Although these are both places to see and download pictures related to hops and brewing history, the system, content, and avenues for access differ.

Oregon Digital

What types of photos will you find here? Art Larrance’s pre-Prohibition hops and brewing advertising and company materials (digital surrogates); Fred Bowman’s photographs of original Portland Brewing building renovation and events (digital surrogates); hops publications; photos of hop picking at Mount Angel Abbey (digital surrogates); and photographs of hop picking, equipment, and farmers from the Oregon Hop Growers Association Collection.

Flickr photos

What will you find here? Miscellaneous OSU photographs from department collections or research reports related to hops, brewing, and barley; OSU researcher; yards and fields; hop growers and pickers. You'll also find current public programming, events, exhibit, and outreach photographs.

Benton County Historical Society oral histories

These interviews support research in the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives, but the original interview cassettes and transcripts are part of the Benton County Historical Society collection. Please contact them for any permissions to reproduce.   

James Winn, 2/5/1982. 39:35

Interview with James Winn, 5264 Spring Hill Drive, Albany, Oregon Date: February 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Charles Staley, 4/2/1982, tape 1. 31:53

Interview with Charles Staley, Glisan Street Health Center, Portland, Oregon Date: April 2, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Charles Staley, 4/2/1982, tape 2. 09:26

Interview with Charles Staley, Glisan Street Health Center, Portland, Oregon Date: April 2, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Dane Purvine, 3/5/1982, tape 1. 31:42

Interview with Dane Purvine 1129 N. W. 16th, Corvallis, Oregon 97330 Date: March 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Dane Purvine, 3/5/1982, tape 2. 20:20

Interview with Dane Purvine 1129 N. W. 16th, Corvallis, Oregon 97330 Date: March 5, 1982 Interviewer: Earl Nunnemaker for Benton County Historical Society.

Sidney Newton, 3/24/1982, tape 1. 30:13

Interview with Sidney Newton, 16 S. Third, Independence, Oregon Date: March 24, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Sidney Newton, 3/24/1982, tape 2. 29:58

Interview with Sidney Newton, 16 S. Third, Independence, Oregon Date: March 24, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Beth Monroe, 1/25/1982. 39:56

Interview with Beth Monroe, 1129 N. W. 16th Street, Corvallis, Oregon Date: January 25, 1982 Interviewer: Mickey Peterson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Tom Kraemer, 2/2/1982. 37:02

Interview with Tom Kraemer, 160 N. E. Conifer, Corvallis, Oregon Date: February 2, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for Benton County Historical Society.

Ming Kee, 4/19/1982, tape 1. 31:57

Interview with Ming Kee, 25141 N. E. Boones Perry Rd., Aurora, Oregon Date: April 19, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Ming Kee, 4/19/1982, tape 2. 09:35

Interview with Ming Kee, 25141 N. E. Boones Perry Rd., Aurora, Oregon Date: April 19, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society.

Harvey Kaser, 4/16/1982, tape 1. 31:55

Interview with Harvey Kaser, 3098 Cascade Hwy, N.E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 16, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Harvey Kaser, 4/16/1982, tape 2. 31:53

Interview with Harvey Kaser, 3098 Cascade Hwy., N.E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 16, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooler for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Al Haunold, 2/1/1982, tape 1. 31:21

Interview with Al Haunold, Oregon State University Date: February 1, 1982 Interviewer: Keith W. Peterson, for Benton County Historical Society.

Al Haunold, 2/1/1982, tape 2. 07:24

Interview with Al Haunold, Oregon State University Date: February 1, 1982 Interviewer: Keith W. Peterson, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Amanda Grim, 4/6/1982. 12:51

Interview with Amanda Grim Date: April 6, 1982 Interviewer: Kathleen Hudson Cooper for the Benton County Historical Society.

Herman Goschie, 4/14/82, tape 1. 30:24

Interview with Herman Goschie, 7365 Meridian Road, N. E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 14, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Herman Goschie, 4/14/82, tape 2. 18:26

Interview with Herman Goschie, 7365 Meridian Road, N. E., Silverton, Oregon Date: April 14, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler for the Benton County Historical Society.

Gale Evans, 4/7/1982, tape 1. 31:33

Interview with Gale Evans Rt. 1, Box 68, Logsden, Oregon Date: April 7, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Gale Evans, 4/7/1982, tape 2. 08:30

Interview with Gale Evans Rt. 1, Box 68, Logsden, Oregon Date: April 7, 1982 Interviewer: Daniel C. Robertson for the Benton County Historical Society. 

Rosa Cole, 2/17/1982, tape 1. 30:35

Interview with Rosa Cole 1551 N. E. Center Street, #102, Salem, Oregon Date: February 17, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Rosa Cole, 2/17/1982, tape 2. 27:28

Interview with Rosa Cole 1551 N. E. Center Street, #102, Salem, Oregon Date: February 17, 1982 Interviewer: Tim Satler, for Benton County Historical Society. 

Related OSU videos

Fields of Green: Hops in History, October 20, 2020

For Oregon Archives Month in 2020, Tiah Edmunson-Morton gave a talk on the history of hops and brewing in the world, history of hops in Oregon, history of the Zoller Hop Company. 

Beer and Brewing Histories of Women, Community, and Science, August 20, 2020. 01:30:00

The history of beer and brewing has flourished in recent years, as indicated by the amount of peer-reviewed literature on the topic and the Smithsonian’s hiring (with funds from the Brewers’ Association) of a “beer historian” at the National Museum of American History. The American and global interest in craft beer has spurred this push for new scholarship. And, indeed, a significant amount of literature has been produced on this more recent cultural moment. In this panel, however, we aim to explore topics that preceded the craft beer craze. Our papers are designed to speak about some of the overlooked aspects of brewing in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, including the roles of women and families in brewing, the relationship between breweries and their communities large and small, and the science behind the hop varieties found in beer. Each paper overlaps in a variety of manners. Eliza Canty-Jones (editor of the Oregon Historical Quarterly) will lead the discussion from Portland — which the suds-adoring locals often refer to as Beervana.

Panel discussion with Tiah Edmunson-Morton, Peter A. Kopp, Braden Neihart, and Megan Ockerman; comments by Eliza E. Canty-Jones.

This panel was originally scheduled to be delivered in person at the 2020 conference of the Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association, and it is sponsored by CU Denver.

Hop into History: Archives and Alcohol in America, August 7, 2020. 01:05:14

Grab a drink, and pull up a stool at the virtual hotel bar for a storytelling session featuring archivists who are working to document various aspects of alcohol history in the United States. Whether your drink of choice is beer, wine, bourbon, or cocktails, we’ll share some stories from our collections that might make you think a little differently the next time you take a sip!

Beer in the Archive: Searching for Traces of Women, June 18, 2020. 01:03:52.

Old newspapers and census data are valuable tools in search of untold beer history. These sources can be mysterious and impenetrable – or  a treasure trove – or something in between. We invite you to join us for a conversation with Oregon State University Archivist, Tiah Edmunson-Morton and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Professor Jennifer Jordan.

Their discussion will zero in on particular women, like Oregon’s Louisa Weinhard – wife of famed Portland brewer Henry and famous in her own right for her generosity and community involvement – and Wisconsin’s Nancy Humphrey—a widow who lost much of her family to a typhoid epidemic, but who is also credited with (possibly) creating a popular 19th century hop, the Humphrey’s Seedling. They’ll have a conversation about some of the benefits and challenges of relying on these readily available but often incomplete historical records, particularly with regard to telling the history of women in beer. The pair will also offer suggestions for your own research as well as cautions about pitfalls they’ve encountered.

Ted W. Cox: "Tales of Corvallis Brewing: What We Know About the 19th Century" May 25, 2017. 00:48:18

Cox is a historian and local beer history expert. He gave a talk entitled “Tales of Corvallis Brewing: what we know about the 19th century” on the history of brewing in Corvallis for the 2017 Benton County/City of Corvallis Preservation Month awards ceremony. The event was held at the Old World Deli on May 25, 2017. 

Peter Kopp: "Hoptopia: A World of Agriculture and Beer in Oregon's Willamette Valley." Collections at the Center lecture November 18, 2016. 01:09:40

Kopp talks about the history of hops in Oregon, specifically in the Willamette Valley, as well as the importance of the USDA and OSU's research in the breeding and development of new varieties. Also of note is Alfred Haunold's contribution to the presentation; he discusses his work with hops in more detail. 

Annessa Babic - Resident Scholar Lecture "Safety for our Souls: Food Activism and the Environmental and Women’s Movements, 1960s-1990s." August 23, 2016. 00:56:48 

Dr. Annessa Babic is a freelance writer, Instructor for Kentucky Wesleyan College and New York Institute of Technology, and Co-Chair for the Women's Network Steering Committee of the European Association of American Studies; she visited OSU as a part of the resident scholar program. Her research focused on food, specifically political and grassroots activism as it relates to food waste, labeling, taste, and manufacturing, but in her lecture she shares the ways her project expended based on the archival materials she found at OSU, linking education and labeling to the industry, operations, and culture of commercial breweries, homebrewers, and consumers. Audience questions focus on WIC, international labeling, gender, immigrants adaptation to new food systems, and connection between small food communities and anti-military movements. 

Ryan Dearinger - Resident Scholar Lecture "Hop Picking Cultures in the Pacific Northwest." May 26, 2016. 01:11:12

Dr. Ryan Dearinger, Associate Professor of History at Eastern Oregon University, visited Oregon State University as part of the resident scholar program. This lecture, “Hop-Picking Cultures in the Pacific Northwest,” delves into the tense racial relations among agricultural laborers of the nineteenth century. Dearinger examines the technological and cultural changes that followed the spread of “hop fever” throughout the Pacific Northwest. Using a massacre in Squak Valley, WA as a central case study, Dearinger explores the relationships and cultural conceptions among Native American, Chinese and Caucasian laborers. This lecture was given on May 26, 2016 in the Valley Library at Oregon State University.

Teri Fahrendorf Lecture - "My Beer Career." February 2, 2016. 01:02:22

Lecture by Teri Fahrendorf to OSU brewing science students about Fahrendorf's career as a brewer in California and Oregon; her establishment of the Pink Boots Society to support women brewers; and working at Great Western Malting Company. The lecture was held in Wiegand Hall on February 2, 2016.

Oregon Hop Commission Historical Footage. 01:48:04

This c. 1995 video contains footage for a documentary film; the interviewer, date, locations, and many of the interviewees are not identified. Footage of hop yards, properties, barns, driers, laborers training bines, and buildings in Salem is included at the beginning and end of the video. Also included are two interviews with Adele Egan, who talks about pay day at the hop fields in the 1930s, and a group interview with five hop farmers (including Ray Kerr, Cap Becker, Andy Kerr, and Mr. Smith). They talk for nearly 45 minutes about a variety of topics, including picking technologies; family stories; the quality of hand picked hops; socio-economic, ethnic, and racial demographics of the picker population in the 1920s through the 1940s, impact of newer hop varieties like the Cascade, and the impact of micro and macro brewers on production. 

John O' Connell, Hop Growers of America conference presentation. 54:20

John O’Connell gave this presentation, circa 1995, to the Hop Growers of America on the topic of the Chinese hops and beer makings. He talks about the flow of information, increased interest in beer in China, the places where larger American macro breweries are involved with both agriculture and brewing, and labor practices. This video is part of the Oregon Hop Growers Association Collection. 

Hops farming operations, circa 194511:43

This video shows laborers in fields, a tractor tilling alleys in fields, watering and irrigation, fields before harvest, harvest, picking machines, baling, and a public event. This video is a part of the Oregon Hop Growers Association Collection and Adela Serris' name is on the VHS cassette.

Widmer Tour, 5/9/2014. 29:11

Tour conducted at Widmer Brewing Facility, Portland, OR. 

Widmer Bros. Commercial, ca. 1997. 05:49

From Austen Family Business Center records transfer September 2014. Original collection is College of Business Photographs (P194): http://scarc.library.oregonstate.edu/coll/p194/index.html.…

OHBA Stories: the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives video, 2014. 07:20

This video showcases some of the stories found in the archive, but also gives viewers an introduction into what an archivist does and how archives are collected. Interviews include Tiah Edmunson-Morton, Scott McFarland, Dr. Thomas Shellhammer, Dr. Shaun Townsend, Gayle Goschie, Nate Tilly, Kurt and Rob Widmer, Blake Crosby, and Teri Fahrendorf. Produced by Eric Buist, Yancy Faulkner, Korey Jackson, Tiah Edmunson-Morton.

Tap Into History: Four Perspectives on Brewing in Oregon, March 28, 2014. 01:38:36

This event took place at the Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives launch party and was accompanied by screenings of video shorts and a full-length documentary on the history of brewing. Panel participants included agriculture historian Peter Kopp, journalist John Foyston, Full Sail Brewing founder and CEO Irene Firmat, and OSU doctoral candidate Daniel Sharp. See the event page for more information.

OSU Agriculture Experiment Station Communications PSA: Hops, 1980. 01:12
From the Extension and Experiment Station Communications Moving Images Collection, 1937-2007. 1980 Dr Alfred Haunold in the hop fields.

Fermentation Science at Oregon State University. 04:04

Oregon State University knows the science of beer. Students, graduate researchers, faculty and graduates contribute to the brewing industry on a global scale. Located in one of the great hop growing regions of the world, and in the cradle of the ongoing craft brewing revolution, OSU's strength in fermentation science is a perfect fit for the region. Find out some of the stories of our students, faculty and graduates and learn why we take the art and science beer so seriously. Video Produced by OSU Web Communications.

Fac Assessment Academy 2011 08 Thomas Shellhammer

Programmatic Assessment with Food Science and Technology, Thomas H. Shellhammer, Nor\'wester Professor of Fermentation Science. 

OSU Fermentation Science Program. 02:20

Take a trip to the OSU Pilot Brewery to see what students majoring in fermentation science are learning about beer making. Research is conducted at OSU that benefits the microbrewery industry.

OSU Food & Fermentation Science Club. 01:23

Students in the club gain hands-on experience developing their own beer recipes while having fun learning about fermentation science.