Skip to main content

Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives: PEOPLE, BUSINESSES, GROUPS

This guide provides a list of archival collections related to hops and brewing history, as well as tips and resources for doing research.

Oregon Hops and Brewing Collection

Brewing and Fermentation Research Collection, 1916-2016

The Brewing and Fermentation Collection consists of materials collected by the OSU Special Collections and Archives Research Center pertaining to the history, growth, and culture of the Pacific Northwest brewing industry, including regional hops and barley farming, commercial craft and home brewing, and craft cider and mead.

Of note are the homebrew club newsletters, publications, articles and theses, clippings, and brewery and subject files, marketing materials, memorabilia, and ephemeral items like beer cans and bottles. Electronic records are a component of this collection, including newsletters, reports, photographs, and ephemeral materials on home brewing, craft breweries, and hop farming in Oregon. 

There are also several noteworthy periodical runs including Celebrator (1988-2014), Malt Advocate (1994-2009), American Brewer (1987-2013), Beer Northwest (2007-2010), Brewing Techniques (1993-1999), Zymurgy (1984-2013), All About Beer (1979-2014), The New Brewer (1983-2010), The Oregon Hop Grower and Pacific Hop Grower (1933-1940), The Hopper (1944-1955), Northwest Brew News, Brewers Guardian (1963-2002), and the Oregon Beer Growler (2014-2016).

Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives Oral History Collection (OH35)

The Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives Oral History Collection is a growing repository of interviews with industry professionals, journalists and community members. More specifically, this collection documents the stories of people involved with Pacific Northwest hops and barley farming; craft and home brewing, cider, mead; and scientific research. 

A list of the interviews that are part of this collection are on the "Oral Histories, Videos" tab in this guide. 

Company records

Oregon Hop Growers Association Records, 1949-2011

The Oregon Hop Growers Association Records (OHGA) document administration and various activities, including outreach events and the collection of statistical information about hop production in the U.S. and abroad.

This collection consists of materials generated and collected by the OHGA and is made up of accounting ledgers, articles of incorporation, bulletins, bylaws, correspondence, event programs, financial records, meeting minutes, membership lists, newsletters, newspaper clippings, publications, and reports.

In addition to documenting the administration of OHGA, these records also reflect OHGA's participation in conferences, the organization of outreach events such as field days/tours, and the collection of statistical information about hop production in the U.S. and abroad. Materials from the organization Hop Growers of America that reflect their meetings and reports of compiled data comprise about half of the collection. Other organizations represented in these records include the Oregon Farm Bureau, the Oregon State Hop Commission, and the Political Action Committee "AG-PAC."

Hop Growers of America Records

This collection contains publications and information on events (planning documents, promotional materials, correspondence). This collection is being processed and will have a complete guide to the materials soon. 

Hops Research Council Records, 1943-2009

The Hops Research Council Records consist of materials generated and collected by the council that document its support of hops research projects as well as the gathering of information about hops research outside of the U.S. Much of the collection pertains to the development of new hop varieties and the management of hop diseases such as powdery mildew.

In addition to annual reports summarizing ongoing research projects funded by the HRC, the collection includes article reprints, bylaws, cds, contracts, correspondence, financial records, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, notes, research proposals, and symposium proceedings. The collection's six cds contain annual reports.

Much of the research reflected in the records pertains to the development of new hop varieties and the management of hop diseases such as powdery mildew. Projects by researchers at OSU (including those with the USDA Agricultural Research Service) are featured prominently in these files, which include the work of Alfred Haunold, Cindy Ocomb, Ward Strong, Max Deinzer, and John Henning.

Heart of the Valley Homebrewers

The Heart of the Valley Homebrewers Records are comprised of a wide variety of materials that document the club's activities and outreach. The Heart of the Valley Homebrewers club was founded in Corvallis in 1982.

The records held in this collection include blank forms, bylaws, correspondence, flyers, meeting minutes, membership lists, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and recipes/brewsheets. In addition to documenting beers made by HOTV members, the records also reflect annual events organized by the club, beer judging certification, and involvement of club members in the American Homebrewers Association. The collection's newsletters not only represent the HOTV, but other local homebrew clubs as well, including as the Capitol Brewers (Salem), the Mary's Peak Lagers, and the Cascade Brewer's Society (Springfield).

McMenamins Brewery Collection, 1985-2013

The McMenamins Brewery Collection consists of materials documenting the McMenamins company of breweries, pubs, and hotels.

The collection includes brochures, coasters, decals, digital images on a cd, event programs, flyers, newspaper clippings, tap handles, posters, labels, a wooden cask, a six-pack of "Hammerhead" beer, and digital surrogates for brewsheets.

In addition to the brewery activity and the various beers released by McMenamins, this collection also contains information on events organized by the company such as homebrew competitions and Brew Fests. The cask held in the collection was used at the Oak Hills Pub and is decorated with a pen drawing. The collection's photographs show the installation of artwork at some of the facilities renovated and operated by McMenamins, including views of the artists in group shots and in the process of creating their art.

Master Brewers of America, Northwest Chapter Records. 

This collection contains a photo album, periodicals, and conference presentations. This collection is being processed and will have a complete guide to the materials soon. 

Ninkasi Brewing Company Collection, 2012-2014

This collection includes materials generated by the Ninkasi Brewing Company that document the various types of beer produced at the brewery.

Included in this collection are label/packaging stock and posters, an annual report, employee biographical sketches, and a workflow chart of the design process. In addition to publicizing particular beers, the posters also include information on brewery tours, beer release schedules, arcade gaming events sponsored by the brewery, company employees, and a visual presentation of the brewing process. A major component of this collection are electronic graphic design and marketing files, as well as photographs that show company events. 

The Ninkasi Brewing Company formed in 2006 in Eugene, Oregon.

Olympia Brewery Library 

This collection is comprised of periodicals and books that were part of the Olympia Brewing Company Library. This collection is being processed and will have a complete guide to the materials soon. 

Oregon Brewers Guild

The bulk of this collection contains beer and food publications from the mid-1990s through the late-2000s, but there are also operational records for the Oregon Brewers Guild (handbooks, OLCC regulations, OBG newsletters). This collection is being processed and will have a complete guide to the materials soon. 

Oregon Wine Industry Collection, 1937-2011

This small collection contains materials that document the Oregon wine industry. Included are clippings, winery newsletters and guides, publications, and ephemera.

Personal papers

Fred Eckhardt Papers, 1879-2013

The Fred Eckhardt collection covers a broad range of topics related to craft beer brewing, as well as sake and wine making. Included are historical and contemporary brewing practices; research files and personal notes about northwest, regional, national, and international breweries; and photographs of brewing operations, brewers, national and international travels, and industry events. Eckhardt’s collection also includes his own publications, from periodicals to books. These files feature original research, correspondence, artwork and photographs, drafts, issue design templates, and final versions of his published work.

Godfrey Hoerner Collection, 1912-1959

Godfrey R. Hoerner earned his degree from Oregon Agricultural College in 1916 and was a faculty member at Oregon State College from 1931 to 1959. This collection includes photographs, news clippings, and publications from Hoerner's student years at Oregon Agricultural College and the University of Minnesota, as Oregon State College's Extension Specialist for Hop Production, and during his four-year tenure working at the Kasetsart University in Thailand.

Of special note are photographs of USDA displays and brewers’ conventions in the 1930s through 1950s, panoramic and group pictures from the American Brewers Association and Master Brewers Association of America, and publications such as the Brewers Digest: 20 Years of Brewing Progress issue commemorating the 20th anniversary of repeal.

Pete Dunlop Collection, 1903-2010

The Pete Dunlop Collection consists of born digital materials assembled by Dunlop in the course of researching and writing the book "Portland Beer: Crafting the Road to Beervana."

Residing in electronic form as Word, PDF, TIF, and JPG files, these materials are made up of articles from the Oregonian newspaper, digital images, transcribed interviews with people in the Portland brewing community, and documents relating to state Senate Bill 813, more commonly known as the Oregon brewpub bill.

The collection's electronic articles are arranged in folders by decade and date from 1903 to 2010. The images consist of both published and unpublished photographs that include portrait shots of brewers as well as shots of artifacts such as coasters, Portland beer festivals, and restaurants connected with breweries. All images are protected by copyright and are not for publication without written permission of Dunlop.

Fred Bowman Collection

The Fred Bowman collection features digital surrogates of papers and photographs documenting the creation and expansion of one of Oregon’s first post-Prohibition breweries: Portland Brewing Company. Co-founded in 1986 by Fred Bowman, Jim Goodwin, and Art Larrance, Portland Brewing Company’s original brewpub location would not only help revitalize the Pearl District, but serve as a catalyst for the region’s craft brew revolution. Collection items include digital copies of materials contained in Bowman’s personal notebook, file folders, and photograph album.

This collection is being processed and will have a complete guide to the materials soon. 

Ruth Tibbits Tooze Papers, 1938-1940

The Ruth Tibbits Tooze Papers are comprised of materials collected by Ruth Tooze from 1938-1940 during her tenure as Vice President of the Oregon Woman's Christian Temperance Union (WCTU). The collection includes correspondence, notes, typescripts, budget records, meeting agendas, pamphlets and leaflets, press releases, educational planning documents, songsheets, event programs, and newsclippings.

Robert Daly beer publication collection, 1978-2004

This collection is comprised of publications collected by Robert Daly about beer brewing as well as guides to different varieties of beer found in the U.S. and worldwide. Included among the publications are several issues of the Oregon Brew Crew newsletter, which Daly edited.

In addition to several features written by Daly for the Oregon Brew Crew newsletters, the collection also includes an article written by Daly on Bulgarian beers that appeared in a student newspaper. A number of newsletter articles likewise document the OSU Fermentation Science program. Newspaper clippings focusing on the Portland homebrewing scene are also part of the collection.