SCARC Collection Strengths
Keywords and Starting Points
Search these in 1Search, SCARC Finding Aids, Oregon Digital, MediaSpace
- world peace - antinuclear movement
- nuclear disarmament - nuclear weapons
- international policy - diplomatic relations
- protests - demonstrations
See Also
Nuclear Free America Records, 1945-2003
The Nuclear Free America Records document the activities of this nonprofit resource center throughout the lifetime of the organization. Nuclear Free America facilitated a worldwide antinuclear movement to create "nuclear free zones" (NFZs) or communities where nuclear production, testing, waste, and transportation activities were banned. During its 15 years of operation, more than 200 NFZ declarations were passed by 4,500 local governments in 26 nations worldwide. The collection includes administrative records, records of nuclear free zone declarations by localities around the world, and extensive files related to affiliated antinuclear organizations. Series 5: Related Organizations collects materials from a number of affiliated activist and social justice organizations both small and large. These include Concerned Citizens for Nuclear Safety, Greenpeace, International Peace Bureau, the Indigenous Environmental Network, Japan Council against Atomic and Hydrogen Bombs, NukeWatch, the Peace Boat, SANE/Freeze, and the World Information Service on Energy (WISE).
Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera, 1897-2017
The Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection of Atomic Age Ephemera consists of printed ephemera produced from the late 19th century to the present day. The materials comprise broad coverage of many scientific, religious, cultural, industrial, political, environmental, and other aspects of nuclear history. Peace work is represented broadly in the collection from 1945 and the early years of atomic energy. Many materials deal with activism surrounding issues such as the nuclear weapons testing controversy, civil defense, nuclear power, and nuclear waste disposal. Ephemera related to peace organizations, such as SANE, the Hague Appeal for Peace, and Women's International League for Peace and Freedom is throughout the collection, along with projects such as the 1961 worldwide Walk for Peace, the 1986 Great Peace March, and the Nevada Test Site PeaceCamp.
History of Atomic Energy Collection, 1872-2014
The History of Atomic Energy Collection is the largest collection related to nuclear history in SCARC collections. Containing over 3,000 published items and other cultural artifacts, this collection is a significant resource for research on the political, scientific, economic, technological, and social issues that have characterized the nuclear age. (See Rare Books below for more on published materials). Series 2: Ephemera contains peace and anti-nuclear movement material including advocacy materials from Greenpeace, Environmental Defense Fund, the Clamshell Alliance, SANE, and Traprock Peace Center.
Paul J. Persiani Papers, 1938-2009
The Paul J. Persiani Papers document the career of Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) physicist Paul J. Persiani. Series 3 is comprised of a small group of materials related to Persiani's work on the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty (START), which sought to place limits on the development and stockpiling of nuclear arms by the United States and the USSR. Included are lists of the U.S. and USSR delegates, including Persiani who represented the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency as one of twenty advisors to the United States negotiators and policymakers.
David A. Marcus Letters, 1972-1985
The David A. Marcus Letters are comprised of correspondence between Marcus and politicians, peace activists, religious leaders, scientists, and intellectuals between 1972 and 1983. Topics include the potential for nuclear conflict, the need for a global peace organization, and the future of humankind.
At Oregon State
Peace Jam Northwest Records, 2004-2011*
Based at OSU from 2004 until 2012, Peace Jam Northwest served as an affiliate of the international education program Peace Jam Foundation (PJF). PJF formed in 1996 with the mission of creating "young leaders committed to positive change in themselves, their communities, and the world." Through small group sessions at annual conferences, PJF integrates the teachings of Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, who themselves attend the conference to interact directly with the participants. Among the laureates who have visited OSU for Peace Jam Northwest include: Jody Williams, Rigoberta Menchu Tum, and Adolfo Perez Esquivel. OSU was established as the Peace Jam Northwest affiliate in 2004. Administratively, the organization resided in the Student Media Dept. and later, the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement. The University of Oregon currently hosts Peace Jam Northwest. The KBVR -TV Moving Images and Sound Recordings Collection contains footage of the 2011 Peace Jam gathering at OSU.
Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, 1860-present
This collection of OSU history ephemera contains several files regarding peace activities on campus, including the Ava Helen Lecture on World Peace, the Peace Jam, the Peace Corps, and the Peace on Earth Club, as well as files on the Peace Studies Program.
Underground Newspapers, 1965-2002
The Underground Newspapers consist of publications, primarily written and produced by Oregon State University students, that were intended as alternatives to the mainstream press. Most of the publications were issued during the period of student unrest in the 1960s and early 1970s. The predominant topics are civil rights, specifically racial incidents at Oregon State University, and the war in Vietnam. All of the items in this collection are available online in the Oregon State University Student Protest and Underground Publications digital collection.
Educational Opportunities Program Records, 1968-2013
The Educational Opportunities Program (EOP) Records document the materials and activities of the EOP office in its goal to provide support for students who have traditionally been denied access to higher education. This includes the administrative documents and resources of the program, its committees and workshops, as well as the program’s publications. There is also a significant amount of photographic materials documenting program activities. Multiple years of the Peace Breakfast and the Peace Jam are represented.
Robert W. Henderson Photographic Slides Collection, 1936-1998
The Robert W. Henderson Photographic Slides provide visual documentation of Oregon State University and the state of Oregon from, in bulk, the mid-1950s to the late 1990s. The collection contains significant documentation of the April 1971 Peace Walk and many years of the Peace Convocation in Gill Coliseum. Robert Henderson's Papers, 1993-2005* include early material about the founding of the Peace Corps at OSC.
Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008
This collection contains records from a number of peace related organizations including Students for Peace.
Carl E. Bond Papers, 1944-2000*
Alumnus and ichthyologist Carl Bond received B.S. and M.S. degrees from Oregon State College in 1947 and 1948. He began his teaching and research career in OSC's Fisheries and Wildlife Dept. in 1949 as Assistant Aquatic Biologist. Specializing in the study of freshwater fish, Bond established himself as one of the world's leading authorities on Sculpin cottidae. Bond was also involved in research internationally, working in Latin America and Africa, as well as India and Iran in Peace Corps projects from 1967 to 1971. Series 2: Correspondence includes letters on his Peace Corps work, as well as Series 3: Research Notes.
Pauling Personal Library
The most significant concentration of material on the peace movement in SCARC collections. Ava Helen's activism results in a special emphasis on a women and the peace movement, especially periodicals from peace organizations.
History of Atomic Energy Collection
The publications series comprise SCARC's largest nuclear history collection. Rare books, newsletters, pamphlets, government documents, and many other types are present in this collection, with most materials from the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s. Organizations such as the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, and the United Nations are well represented. Antinuclear activism is represented from multiple perspectives, including legal, diplomatic, and grassroots voices. Activist biographies and histories of peace organizations are present, such as You Come With Naked Hands, The Story of the San Francisco to Moscow Peace March; Peace Agitator: The Story of A. J. Muste; and The Forbidden Voyage. Rare materials are plentiful and include President John F. Kennedy's 1962 address on nuclear testing and disarmament; handbooks on anti-nuclear actions, Crossroads Middletown, and Niels Bohr's open letter to the United Nations from June 1950. Activist materials are present throughout the collection, but concentrations lie in the JK, JX, JZ, U263-4, and UF767 ranges. The Robert Dalton Harris, Jr. Collection, a subcollection within the History of Atomic Energy Collection, brings many activist materials from the late 1970s and 1980s to the larger collection.
Oregon Digital
Results for peace or antinuclear, limited to Oregon State's collections, including publications, images, and videos.
Scholars Archive
OSU-produced scholarship on antinuclear issues and peace.
MediaSpace
Interviews of OSU personalities including Linus Pauling on peace and the antinuclear movement.
